Finnish Kropser (Baked Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Recipitrista
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Eeks- came out deflated. Tastes alright though. I like the eggy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I learned to make this a long time ago from a friend's mother. It is even better with blueberries stirred into the batter. You can reduce the sugar by quite a bit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was definitely good, but the fifth star is because it was so easy rather than for taste. I'd never had Kropser before, so I have no basis for comparison. It seemed to me like a cross between a very firm custard and a popover. As written, I thought there was too much butter - melted butter pooled on the top and its flavor dominated. The second time I halved the butter (2 TBSP) and liked it much more. The edges puffed up really high, but the middle stayed flat like a basket, so you can fill with fruit for an attractive presentation. Maple syrup was also good, and I cut up some of the flat middle section into small squares, topped with jam, and served them like cakes. It was good both hot and cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanne
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I love it! its really yummy and not at all like a pancake. Is it really supposed to puff up so much?But it went back to normal anyway. I served it with a drizzle of honey mixed with hazelnut syrup and some cinnamon. It was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe quite a few times now & have the following advice. You may substitute sifted white whole wheat flour for the all purpose with no ill effects, & cut back the sugar by at least a third if you prefer. (That's how I do it every time.) I like the buttery goodness, but cutting back to 3 Tbsp of butter doesn't affect the quality and flavor. Don't use the beaters to mix it; that tends to make the edges tougher. Instead, beat the milk and eggs together before adding to the dry ingredients, then hand whisk it just until mostly smooth (there will be some tiny lumps, but they'll soften waiting for the butter to melt & bake out.) Before adding liquid ingredients to the dry, whisk a few drops of vanilla & almond extract into the liquid. Use a 9 x 13 nonstick cake pan & spray lightly with butter flavored spray. I do not mix the hot butter into my batter, just swirl butter to coat pan, lightly stir batter & pour on top of butter. Do bake @ 400 F on the upper oven rack; I bake it for 15-20 minutes, then give it a half turn and bake for 5-10 minutes more. It is done, IMHO, when the edges are golden brown, & the middle is puffed & "set." It truly is halfway between a giant popover & a lovely, custard-y bread pudding. I sprinkle it with powdered sugar as everyone comes running to the table, and serve it with lemon wedges and whipped cream. Individuals then add the amount of lemon they like and whipped cream if preferred. I like it best with just lemon and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I am sooo excited! My muma made this for me when I was a child. I've always wanted the recipe but never knew how to spell it! lol! She died when I was only 9 so I couldn't ask her. Thank you so much it will bring back such wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiSr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This turned out as good as the other reviewers said it was. It did burn some on the edges even with the temp turned to *425. My family loved it with or w/out powered sugar and syrup.It's nothing like a pancake. It is thick with hills and valleys and a creamy texture. Very, Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I accidently made this the first time in a 9x9 pan and it was burnt on the edges and raw in the middle. The second time I noticed the 9x13 indicated in the recipe and the results were great...delicous and a nice change from regular pancakes. I added some vanilla to the batter and baked at 400 for almost 40 minutes to avoid burning, as recommended by others. Served with choices of syrup, mixed fruit, or powdered sugar...all of which were great accompaniments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was great!! My whole family loved it. We live in a Finnish/American community and it is an authentic recipe. It did, however, burn due to the high temp so I am making it at 400 as I had lowered the temp to 425 and the edges burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was great! So easy to make, and tastes good warm or cold. Still just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States