Finnish Cookie Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
awesome cookies. i did what the other poster did and mixed sugar in with nuts to make prep easier. could use a smidge more almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
i overbaked for a few minutes because after 10 minutes they came out very soft and didn't feel cooked through. DO NOT DO THIS! they will stiffen up after they cool. but they were still delicious. i also mixed sugar with the crushed almonds, and it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tough.to.be.tender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These were terrific! I had never made them before, but took a chance and made them for my cookie exchange at school. They were a huge hit! The only change I made was to roll them in holiday sprinkles instead of sugar to make them more festive. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
i'm a finnish girl, these are a traditional cookie we have always enjoyed. for anyone having trouble with the messy egg bath, here's a trick. put a colander in a larger bowl. put the cookies in the colander, and pour the egg over the cookies. tah-dah, no egg mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
i made these for my sociology class to go with my presentation on finland....but my brother ended up eating them so i couldnt bring them to class! best cookies ever! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These make a delicious Christmas treat! They're fun to make too. My family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
these were a disaster!!!! i made these cookies for my geography class and people were scared to eat them. I had no idea what kind of almonds to use, so i pu in blanched almonds. Like other reviews suiggested, i combined the sugar and almonds together to roll the sticks in. This method worked okay for the first like 15 cookies but then the mixture became so saturated with the egg that came of the sticks, that i could only get the stuff to stick in akward clumps. When they came out of the oven almost all of the cookies were pretty gross looking, a yellowish color and with strange clumps. When i tried them, the coating was chewy and oddly flavorless. The inside was okay iguess but had a weird aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
For a cookie "stick", this dough was a lot softer than I thought it would be. I ended up shaping the dough into balls, and then flattened them. The cookie texture ended up something like marzipan, but it was very good. We made lots for Christmas cookie gift bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These cookies were a hit at our Christmas festivities. I found the double dipping did not work very well; I had a bit of trounble getting the nuts to stick. Next time I am going to follow some of the suggestions from other reviewers. I made some into sticks and some into rounds; either way they turned out. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
A beautiful holiday cookie. I found I had to make a few adjustments to the recipe. I ground the almonds and sugar together in a blender, this way I did not have to double dip the dough. Instead of logs I formed the dough into balls rolled them in the eggs, which I watered down a little, then rolled them in the nut/sugar mixture. Then I pressed the balls down to form coin shaped cookies. I found you need to be very careful not to overbake these cookies. Remove them from the oven as soon as the bottoms are golden brown. I will defiantely add these to my annual Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States