Finnish Cookie Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I've found a new favorite Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
A lot of work but worth it! I used non-hydrogenated palm shortening instead of butter to make the cookies dairy-free and they came out tasting great. I didn't have almonds so I used walnuts, pecans and macadamia nuts instead (individually) and my favorite was the macadamia nuts. YUM! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISSYTINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This recipe was really good and all the kids i baby-sit enjoyed them so much. they couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
MMMMMMMMMMMM THE BEST COOKIES!!!! SOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I cannot believe that these cookies haven't been reviewed here for 3 years? I made these cookies today. They taste wonderful. They remind me of marzipan! My dough was a little on the dry side and hard to work with, so next time I would try 2.75 cups of flour and see how it is then before adding the full 3 cups. I started out with chopped almonds and ended up using VERY, VERY finely chopped almonds! Just chopped them even smaller in my food precessor so they really coated and stuck to the cookies. Will make again for sure! Thanks! ***re-reviewed 1.22.09 - I made these again this past Christmas and added in Raw Sugar (the large brown crystals) with the ground almonds. It was fantastic. It did make them a bit sweeter and crunchy. I like them both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2sweetpeas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I LOVED THESE !! They are good alone or with coffee. I have made them putting the nuts in the dough and rolling them in course sugar. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great flavor. Ground whole almonds in food processor. Ran out of almond extract-added some ground almonds into batter. I also combined the sugar and almonds to eliminate one step. I cooked on greased cookie sheet not ungreased. Came out great. Rolled some into balls instead of sticks-still came out good. Will definitely make next year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
5 stars for the versitility of this recipe. I love these, they are very biscotti like so I added couple of pinches of anise seeds (great flavor combo). To make these even easier, I kept the dough just a little on the moist side and did away with the egg wash on half the batch- I couldnt tell the difference. Lastly I also mixed colored sugar crystals with the almonds ground very fine and curved them in to C's- These were as beautifull as they were tasty. A perfect cookie to accomany your favorite cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These were delicious-a little bit of work, but soooooooo worth it! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out fabulously! I wasn't sure when they were done as they are really light in color and don't brown but I trusted the recipe and 10 minutes was perfect in our oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Follow the original recipe:). I read some of the reviews and omitted the egg paste before the almond/sugar roll because of the mess. You really had to grind the almonds very fine for it to stick well. I had leftover almonds, so I made the recipe again but did the egg paste. It really was not that messy! And the cookies looked exactly like the picture because the paste was able to grab on to the bigger pieces of almonds and to the festive Christmas sugar crystals. In the end, the cookies did taste the same but the 2nd batch had more of a crunch...yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States