Finnish Cookie Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This recipe was really good and all the kids i baby-sit enjoyed them so much. they couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
My daughter made this recipe for her geography class to go with her report on Finland. She didn't like the dipping in egg part, but liked the finished product. I thought they were pretty tasty myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
MMMMMMMMMMMM THE BEST COOKIES!!!! SOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I made these for Christmas. Nice dough- easy to work with. The only complaint was the egg bath was really messy between the sugar and then the almond so use latex gloves and keep plenty of Bounty on hand. Taste was nice- very nice, but wondered if it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I cannot believe that these cookies haven't been reviewed here for 3 years? I made these cookies today. They taste wonderful. They remind me of marzipan! My dough was a little on the dry side and hard to work with, so next time I would try 2.75 cups of flour and see how it is then before adding the full 3 cups. I started out with chopped almonds and ended up using VERY, VERY finely chopped almonds! Just chopped them even smaller in my food precessor so they really coated and stuck to the cookies. Will make again for sure! Thanks! ***re-reviewed 1.22.09 - I made these again this past Christmas and added in Raw Sugar (the large brown crystals) with the ground almonds. It was fantastic. It did make them a bit sweeter and crunchy. I like them both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2sweetpeas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I LOVED THESE !! They are good alone or with coffee. I have made them putting the nuts in the dough and rolling them in course sugar. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These cookies are pretty good. I cooked them for the amount of time stated but they didn't look done. I am uncertain if they are supposed to have a nice golden color so I took them out. Mine are also a bit fatter and shorter than those pictured here, though I made them the recommended size. Flavor wise they are a little bland but I like that they aren't sweet. These are a nice classic cookie that I will probably make again with slight revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
These were our favorite new Christmas cookies. I hated the double dipping, & decided after to mix colored sugar with the nuts and put them on at once. They looked fabulous & the nuts didn't have trouble sticking once the sugar was on, as in the original directions. With these modifications, 5 stars. The taste is a wonderful almond flavor. Without modifications, because of the mess I'd say 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I've found a new favorite Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I rate this a 4 only because of the messy factor. I actually made 3 cookies as suggested, then mixed in my almonds in the dough. They took 12 minutes to cook and are delicious. They don't look as festive as the picture though, so I'm making a thin glaze frosting to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States