Finnish Cookie Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
A lot of work but worth it! I used non-hydrogenated palm shortening instead of butter to make the cookies dairy-free and they came out tasting great. I didn't have almonds so I used walnuts, pecans and macadamia nuts instead (individually) and my favorite was the macadamia nuts. YUM! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISSYTINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I do not know where the "5 stars" are coming from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj5380

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Well worth the time and effort. Took much longer than the 25 minutes I was told and definatly messy, but everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Follow the original recipe:). I read some of the reviews and omitted the egg paste before the almond/sugar roll because of the mess. You really had to grind the almonds very fine for it to stick well. I had leftover almonds, so I made the recipe again but did the egg paste. It really was not that messy! And the cookies looked exactly like the picture because the paste was able to grab on to the bigger pieces of almonds and to the festive Christmas sugar crystals. In the end, the cookies did taste the same but the 2nd batch had more of a crunch...yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These were delicious-a little bit of work, but soooooooo worth it! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out fabulously! I wasn't sure when they were done as they are really light in color and don't brown but I trusted the recipe and 10 minutes was perfect in our oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Not as light and crispy as I thought it was going to be... but, it tastes very good. We dipped the ends in milk chocolate and then rolled that in red/green sugar to make it festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Let me first say that for taste and presentation, this recipe is easily 5 stars. HOWEVER, if patience isn't your thing, I wouldn't try these. I found the dough to be fragile and difficult to work with. The whole coating process is messy and time-consuming. After removing my 1st batch from the oven, I waited the 5 min to remove them from the cookie sheet as instructed. Saying the cookies were cemented to the cookie sheet would be an understatement. I practically had to chisel them off. So my first batch was basically ruined. I did not wait the 5 min for my second batch, and they turned out fine. By the third batch, I was out of patience and just rolled the remaining dough into balls, threw them all at once into the remaining egg, and then threw them all at once into the sugar and almond mixture. This is what I probably should have done right from the start. I swore I would never make them again, but they were a hit no matter where I took them. I will probably atttempt again and see how things go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The taste of these cookies were the greatest!! My favorite cookie!! Couple complaints were that they were very messy to make, they didn't look anything like the picture and they stuck to the pan, so next time I make these I will grease the pan. Also like the other comments I had to ground the almonds more then I expected to have them stick, ground them more like a fine powder. Other then that they tasted great and I will try rolling them in red sugar crystals or green as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
5 stars for the versitility of this recipe. I love these, they are very biscotti like so I added couple of pinches of anise seeds (great flavor combo). To make these even easier, I kept the dough just a little on the moist side and did away with the egg wash on half the batch- I couldnt tell the difference. Lastly I also mixed colored sugar crystals with the almonds ground very fine and curved them in to C's- These were as beautifull as they were tasty. A perfect cookie to accomany your favorite cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
looks interesting! love crunchy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States