Finikia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
lovely taste-just like the ones i buy in a Greek bakery. i found that they looked crackly unlike the smooth cookies that the baker makes. but i absolutely love the texture in your mouth and the taste is deep!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Fabulous recipe (although I think I've seen it elsewhere on the web, too). Finikia is an awesome cookie with a soft texture made interesting by the semolina flour. I'm so glad I can make them at home, since I don't have access to a lot of Greek bakeries. Just make sure you don't boil the syrup too long or you'll end up with a candy coating on the cookies. Fresh-squeezed orang juice greatly improves the cookie's flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Syrup is a bit finicky, but the cookies are very nice! The flavours of cinnamon and orange blend very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Very nice flavor, but I found them a little dry. The semolina added an interesting, almost cornmeal like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very good recipie. Tastes just like my mothers. Make sure your syrup isnt TOO hot otherwide the cookies tend to fall apart, and instead of just dunking them in and pulling them right out, my mom always let them simmer for maybe 2-3 seconds....also the cookies are much better after they sit for a day or so and the moisture from the syrup penetrates evenly. The person that said they are dry probably ate them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious! Heavenly texture--buttery and flakey; melts in your mouth. I soak the cookies in the syrup longer than stated--10 seconds or longer. The crunchiness of the semolina dissipates after a day or so, but I may not use the semolina at all; however, you must try the original recipe at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
it is delightful and my friends like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. Please be aware that Finikia are not meant to be crunchy cookies. The cookies are best when they absorb every bit of the flavorful syrup. TIP: Top warm cookies with COOL syrup OR Top cool cookies with WARM syrup The best way to finish these is to place cookies into a large baking pan-just large enough to fit all of the ccookies. The pan should have sides. I use a 13 x 9" pan. Place the cookies in the pan, pour syrup over all and allow them to absorb. Syrup should come 1/3 up the side of the pan. (The same rule applies when making Baklava) It will take at least 1 hour to absorb. Store them in this pan covered with foil, then gently remove to serve. This will keep them very moist! Opa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These cookies are very rich just like Baklava. I could only eat one. My batch made 37 cookies. I soaked in 9x13 pan as suggested here but the top of the cookie will stick to the pan if left longer than 15 minutes. 15 was enough. If you dip the top in sauce and then immediately roll the top on walnuts, they stick on better than if you sprinkled the walnuts. It also holds more of the sauce on top. It was worth trying but not my favorite cookie. I don't think I'll make them again. My rating would be 3 1/2 stars but we don't do halves here. Some call these Easter cookies and they look nice in pastel colored muffin cups. Will post photo. I think these are also called Melomakarona cookies without the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States