Finger Sandwich Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe - I'll be using this from now on. Great taste and texture. I omitted the food coloring - they look beautiful with a few sprinkles or chocolate dipped. Anyone else wondering what 1 1/2 eggs are? I used two yolks and one egg white which worked very well. Is this correct? I bake often but haven't previously seen a recipe calling for part of an egg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Just tried this recipe to have for super bowl! Will never use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
am i the only person out there who doesn't know how to measure out one and a half eggs?? i know i could double the recipe to make 3, but i don't think my mixing bowl would hold double the amount of flour, etc. any help? i'd love to try these cookies! (only rated this coz it is required to "rate"in order to enter a comment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shira369
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious...even better than bakery quality! These disappeared in minutes. I didnt have a pastry bag so i dropped dough by tablespoons and spread out into 2" bars and baked 7-8 minutes until edges were lightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syosset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a very versatile cookie. It would do well as a cutout cookie as well. I paired mine with strawberry jam for the middle and melted chocolate and drizzled it over the top of the cookie. They are not to sweet and have enough flavor to stand on their own even if you don't want to add a jam or preserve to it. Make sure to work with the dough when cold when it gets warm it becomes to soft to work with. Love and recommend this cookie to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the closest I've ever gotten to the cookies I got in the bakery when I was a kid! I also skip the food coloring. The other change I made was to use only 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. I also use raspberry or apricot all fruit to sandwich them and dip the ends in really good dark chocolate! That made them taste more like the cookies I remember. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
If I could give it more stars, I would! These cookies are absolutely delicious. Not super sweet. I didn't sandwich them. I made some with raspberry jelly in the center, others dipped in chocolate and some with only sprinkles! You have got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These cookies are great! I made them without the vanilla and food coloring and used some peppermint extract in the dough and in the melted chocolate. I brought them to a tutoring session that I ran the other night and they literally evaporated. They are really nice because they keep their shape well during baking, and once they are cooled they aren't flimsy, so they are easily transportable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
MMMmmMMM, tastes sooo good...reminds me a of the gingerbread shaped, chocolate filled butter cookies from the bakery. *Just a quick tip: if you want the texture of the Italian butter cookies from the bakery that are chocolate dipped with sprinkles on one side, substitute half the all-purpose flour, with cake flour, and bake 2-3 minutes longer. It adds that iconic crumbly texture, and is absolutely to-die-for- when you sandwich with your favorite jelly/preserves in between. My Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These were the right taste and texture. They are just like italian bakery butter cookies. I sandwiched mine either chocolate or raspberry jam. Dipped the ends in chocolate and colored sprinkles. I could not stop eating them. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States