Finger Sandwich Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Nowhere near the Italian cookies from Bensonherst, or any Italian bakery. Much too dense. Don't make these if you're looking for the little leaf shaped or ladyfinger shaped cookies that are filled with jam and dipped in chocolate...these are not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very good cookie - they have become a staple in my Christmas cookie collection. I do not add the red food coloring. I use a pastry bag with extra large star tip to pipe them and then put rasberry perserves in between two, dip one end of the sandwich in chocolate and colored sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JerzPixelPusher
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These were better than the bakery cookies... I made them with 1 and 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour and 2 and 1/2 cups white flour and left out the food coloring... I couldn't get them to work well with the cookie press (may have been the warm day) but I rolled them into finger shapes and popped them in the fridge so they were cool before baking... spread raspberry jam in between two and dipped them in melted chocolate and sprinkles: SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JerzPixelPusher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These cookies are outrageous TJ! I used a raspberry jam filling, dipped one side into melted chocolate and then into red and green sprinkles. Delicious and very pretty to boot! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made these last year for Christmas and will be making them again this year. They were perfect! I put raspberry jam in between 2 cookies then dipped one end in melted chocolate then colored sprinkles. Just like a NY bakery cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
MMMmmMMM, tastes sooo good...reminds me a of the gingerbread shaped, chocolate filled butter cookies from the bakery. *Just a quick tip: if you want the texture of the Italian butter cookies from the bakery that are chocolate dipped with sprinkles on one side, substitute half the all-purpose flour, with cake flour, and bake 2-3 minutes longer. It adds that iconic crumbly texture, and is absolutely to-die-for- when you sandwich with your favorite jelly/preserves in between. My Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the closest I've ever gotten to the cookies I got in the bakery when I was a kid! I also skip the food coloring. The other change I made was to use only 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. I also use raspberry or apricot all fruit to sandwich them and dip the ends in really good dark chocolate! That made them taste more like the cookies I remember. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
If I could give it more stars, I would! These cookies are absolutely delicious. Not super sweet. I didn't sandwich them. I made some with raspberry jelly in the center, others dipped in chocolate and some with only sprinkles! You have got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Very very very good! Makes a beautiful cookie using the star tip on your cookie press and snake down to desired length. I used the chocolate/hazelnut spread for a quick yummy filling. Thanks for the recipe TJ. You saved me a few trips to Brooklyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
THIS IS A VERY GOOD RECIPE.IT MAKES A GREAT SANDWICH COOKIE BY PUTTING LEMON+BUTTER ICING IN BETWEEN TWO COOKIES.MY HUSBAND LOVED THEM.THEY ARE VERY RICH.WELL WORTH THE SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME IT TAKES TO PREPARE THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States