Finger Lickin' Rock and Roll Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
One of our all time favorite dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Added more mayo and pepper sauce than what was originally called for, but this dip was so yummy!!! Thanks for sharing! I will def be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is yummy dip! I used marinated artichokes because they have better flavor and I chopped them up. It's a good thing I tasted the dip before adding the seasonings because it really did not need much salt. I ended up using 1/2 t seasoned salt, no soy sauce, the full amount of hot sauce (Frank's Red Hot Sauce), and 1/2 t garlic powder. We like things salty and garlicky, but I know the salt would have been overpowering and I think the full amount of garlic powder would have been too. We're quite pleased with how the dip turned out with those changes though! It's great cold or heated in the microwave. Next time I'm going to try adding 1/2 package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry because when the dip is hot, it's pretty thin. Plus we just love spinach artichoke dip. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was edible but I probably will not make it again, I would suggest putting it through a food processor to be a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was really good. I did what many reviewers suggested: used a clove of fresh garlic instead of powder and cut back on the amounts of the salty ingredients. I also upped the amount of artichoke hearts to 14 oz to make it chunkier (and because that is the size can I had, lol). The idea of the recipe and the combo of ingredients are perfect, the spicyness really sets it apart from other artichoke dips. I served it for dipping with Chip Chicken Lollipops from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was delicous Rob! I placed the artichokes in my food processor to make it more of a dip. Yum and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I made this in a blender for a smooth dip for veggies, and all I could taste was soy sauce. I will omit that next time, and maybe use jarred hearts instead of canned, and fresh garlic to give the flavour more depth. I liked the heat and the texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I made this exactly according to the recipe and liked this but hubby commented on the saltiness. I like the flavor of soy sauce but it did seem a bit overpowering for the delectable artichokes which are pretty pricey to disguise like that. We did finish it all and it was less salty the next day. I also have to go easy on garlic with him and I was afraid he would comment on the garlic too. Leaves a strong after taste so beware. Ate this on Club crakers. Probably won't make again but I will think about the soy sauce, garlic, mayo base as a possibility for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
First off, this is an odd looking dip and everyone who ate it first asked me what it was. But once they tried it they really liked it. It is a very rich dip and has a lot of good flavor to it. I served it with hearty wheat crackers, good with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I made this recently for my bunco group-the bowl was licked clean-it's delicious and tastes better if it sits in the fridge for a while so the flavors have a chance to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States