Finger Lickin' Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
LOVE this dip!!! I let it sit over night in the fridge and the flavor is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUSHSUCKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this for a group event. I diced the onions. Also added a little cumin for a smokey flavor in the back ground. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
DH LOOOOOVES caramelized onions so I had to try this. Soooo good! He doesn`t like basil so much so I left that out and it needed more than a pinch of brown sugar. I put in about a teaspoon. Very yummy with a veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This didnt last long. Next time a double batch. I 2x the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
this recipe was delicious and so easy to make! instead of sour cream i used plain, nonfat greek yogart. i did this behind my yogart-hating husbands back, b/c had he known, he'd never had eaten it! but we ate it with some wheat crisps (trader joe's version of wheat thin) and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dip was delicious- tangy, sweet, savory, and perfect for a party. I made a double batch, but did not use quite 5 cups of sour cream as the double batch called for- I only used about 4, since I felt that any more would have made it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is really good! I am having a "chip and dip" bar at my wedding, and I wanted an onion dip that was fancier than what you usually see. This fit the bill perfectly! I made it to take to a wine party and it was well received! My friends were dipping EVERYTHING in this, including sausage! I didn't have basil so I omitted it. I diced the onions because I figured people wouldn't want big pieces of onions when dipping and it was the perfect consistency. I tried the onions after caramelizing them, and they were fabulous! You could use just the onions to top steaks or veggies or whatever you wanted to put onions on/add onions to! The goat cheese gave a good, creamy consistency but since I will be making this for a lot of people, I think I am going to sub cream cheese for the goat cheese and use a mixer to briefly blend the sour cream and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Really yummy! I left out the goat cheese, but wish I hadn't as it needed the salt. I subbed 1c of the sour cream with greek yogurt. Also, diced the onion instead of slicing and added cumin. So much better than store bought or out of the packet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I reduced the sour cream to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup plain yogurt and then combined all ingredients in a food processor to get a smooth creamy, sweet, and savory bowl of goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is delicious!!! This recipe makes enough for a small crowd (guessing between 3 -3 1/2 cups) and is so much better than buying onion dip in the store. I did find I needed to add a bit more spices to mine because it seemed just a bit bland. I have added it to my recipe box and will definitely make again. I did cut back on the oil and used only 2 T olive oil which was plenty. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States