Finger Lickin' Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is really good! I am having a "chip and dip" bar at my wedding, and I wanted an onion dip that was fancier than what you usually see. This fit the bill perfectly! I made it to take to a wine party and it was well received! My friends were dipping EVERYTHING in this, including sausage! I didn't have basil so I omitted it. I diced the onions because I figured people wouldn't want big pieces of onions when dipping and it was the perfect consistency. I tried the onions after caramelizing them, and they were fabulous! You could use just the onions to top steaks or veggies or whatever you wanted to put onions on/add onions to! The goat cheese gave a good, creamy consistency but since I will be making this for a lot of people, I think I am going to sub cream cheese for the goat cheese and use a mixer to briefly blend the sour cream and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
this recipe was delicious and so easy to make! instead of sour cream i used plain, nonfat greek yogart. i did this behind my yogart-hating husbands back, b/c had he known, he'd never had eaten it! but we ate it with some wheat crisps (trader joe's version of wheat thin) and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was ok. I would recommend dicing the onions cause it was a little hard to eat with the long slices on onion. I felt like it was missing something though, needed a little more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dip was delicious- tangy, sweet, savory, and perfect for a party. I made a double batch, but did not use quite 5 cups of sour cream as the double batch called for- I only used about 4, since I felt that any more would have made it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This didnt last long. Next time a double batch. I 2x the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
DH LOOOOOVES caramelized onions so I had to try this. Soooo good! He doesn`t like basil so much so I left that out and it needed more than a pinch of brown sugar. I put in about a teaspoon. Very yummy with a veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
It was a little bland so I added a little bit more of the spices but overall this is a great new dip. I love how it uses goat cheese, very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great change from the usual ranch dip. Make sure your onion is really big, or this is too much oil. I think I will use less oil next time as I ended up draining the oil and squeezing in paper towel to remove excess oil. I did not think there was enough goat cheese flavor so I added more goat cheese. But with the small changes I found this really good and a nice change. Will definitely make again when I have a raw veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this for a group event. I diced the onions. Also added a little cumin for a smokey flavor in the back ground. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was OK. wondering if I did something wrong. Will try again, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States