Finger Lickin' Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
this recipe was delicious and so easy to make! instead of sour cream i used plain, nonfat greek yogart. i did this behind my yogart-hating husbands back, b/c had he known, he'd never had eaten it! but we ate it with some wheat crisps (trader joe's version of wheat thin) and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is really good! I am having a "chip and dip" bar at my wedding, and I wanted an onion dip that was fancier than what you usually see. This fit the bill perfectly! I made it to take to a wine party and it was well received! My friends were dipping EVERYTHING in this, including sausage! I didn't have basil so I omitted it. I diced the onions because I figured people wouldn't want big pieces of onions when dipping and it was the perfect consistency. I tried the onions after caramelizing them, and they were fabulous! You could use just the onions to top steaks or veggies or whatever you wanted to put onions on/add onions to! The goat cheese gave a good, creamy consistency but since I will be making this for a lot of people, I think I am going to sub cream cheese for the goat cheese and use a mixer to briefly blend the sour cream and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was ok. I would recommend dicing the onions cause it was a little hard to eat with the long slices on onion. I felt like it was missing something though, needed a little more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
DH LOOOOOVES caramelized onions so I had to try this. Soooo good! He doesn`t like basil so much so I left that out and it needed more than a pinch of brown sugar. I put in about a teaspoon. Very yummy with a veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dip was delicious- tangy, sweet, savory, and perfect for a party. I made a double batch, but did not use quite 5 cups of sour cream as the double batch called for- I only used about 4, since I felt that any more would have made it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This didnt last long. Next time a double batch. I 2x the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
It was a little bland so I added a little bit more of the spices but overall this is a great new dip. I love how it uses goat cheese, very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great change from the usual ranch dip. Make sure your onion is really big, or this is too much oil. I think I will use less oil next time as I ended up draining the oil and squeezing in paper towel to remove excess oil. I did not think there was enough goat cheese flavor so I added more goat cheese. But with the small changes I found this really good and a nice change. Will definitely make again when I have a raw veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this for a group event. I diced the onions. Also added a little cumin for a smokey flavor in the back ground. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was OK. wondering if I did something wrong. Will try again, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States