Finger Lickin' Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I reduced the sour cream to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup plain yogurt and then combined all ingredients in a food processor to get a smooth creamy, sweet, and savory bowl of goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is delicious!!! This recipe makes enough for a small crowd (guessing between 3 -3 1/2 cups) and is so much better than buying onion dip in the store. I did find I needed to add a bit more spices to mine because it seemed just a bit bland. I have added it to my recipe box and will definitely make again. I did cut back on the oil and used only 2 T olive oil which was plenty. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I really wanted to like this but the flavors just tasted odd together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was OK. wondering if I did something wrong. Will try again, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
It was a little bland so I added a little bit more of the spices but overall this is a great new dip. I love how it uses goat cheese, very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Really yummy! I left out the goat cheese, but wish I hadn't as it needed the salt. I subbed 1c of the sour cream with greek yogurt. Also, diced the onion instead of slicing and added cumin. So much better than store bought or out of the packet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
LOVE this dip!!! I let it sit over night in the fridge and the flavor is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUSHSUCKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was ok. I would recommend dicing the onions cause it was a little hard to eat with the long slices on onion. I felt like it was missing something though, needed a little more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is really good! I am having a "chip and dip" bar at my wedding, and I wanted an onion dip that was fancier than what you usually see. This fit the bill perfectly! I made it to take to a wine party and it was well received! My friends were dipping EVERYTHING in this, including sausage! I didn't have basil so I omitted it. I diced the onions because I figured people wouldn't want big pieces of onions when dipping and it was the perfect consistency. I tried the onions after caramelizing them, and they were fabulous! You could use just the onions to top steaks or veggies or whatever you wanted to put onions on/add onions to! The goat cheese gave a good, creamy consistency but since I will be making this for a lot of people, I think I am going to sub cream cheese for the goat cheese and use a mixer to briefly blend the sour cream and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dip was delicious- tangy, sweet, savory, and perfect for a party. I made a double batch, but did not use quite 5 cups of sour cream as the double batch called for- I only used about 4, since I felt that any more would have made it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States