Filipino Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These were delicious- fall-off-the-bone tender and full of flavor. I was afraid the flavor of the anise pods would be overpowering, (my whole house smelled of the spice after the boiling step), but the sauce works well with the anise flavor. I doubled the amount of sauce and added more as they cooked in the oven. I found that the sauce that dripped from the ribs burned very quickly on the bottom of the baking dish and couldn't be used to spoon over as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was amazing. I used 20 oz of beef broth in the stock pot. Only 3 lbs of ribs but didn't cut anything else. WOW!!! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUEDEMAIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I love this recipe, it reminded me of Polynisian ribs. I put a little dry sherry and some of the fresh ginger in the soy sauce while it was braising. Family loved the honey lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My favorite rib recipe! I follow the instructions and you don't need to add any liquid to the pot. The meat releases its own liquid during the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Thanks so much for this recipe, my husdband hates the flavor of BBQ sauce, and this was a great alternitive! I served these as a strarer at a BBQ, BIG HIT, I boiled the ribs the night before,and baked them in the morning. I used lime juice instead of lemon, and soy sauce instead of worcestershire, because that is what I had, I also slightly reduced the star anise, next time I will use mor ginger and more lime juice! SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
great recipe tastes like black licorice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is an AWESOME recipe! Our guests always finish it - I never have any leftovers! It is more flavourful than your typical sweet & sour type of rib recipe. I always make a little extra sauce & freeze for next time. Thanks for the great recipe! It's a favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
very sweet! but my husband loved it. also used the marinade of chicken drumsticks and also came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Ok, Just a few things. I only had 3 lbs of Ribs on hand, and what exactly is suppose to boil? the four Tbsp of Soy sauce is not enough to boil. So i added Two cans of Beef Broth and that was such a perfect fit. Secondly, I didn't have onion on hand so i added Onion Powder to the pot and also added Garlic Powder, Adobo Seasoning, Salt, Pepper, and a touch of Vinegar. I did make the basting part exactly as told and it was just such a small amount there was no drippings to work with, and remember i only used 3 lbs of ribs. The Ribs were Good, but my husband and i both agree that maybe a tad too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
De-lish! Were'nt sure what liquid to "bring to a boil", so we used a couple cups of beef broth. The sauce was fantastic. Would be great with rice. No problem finding the ingredients at our local chinese grocery. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States