Filipino Pork Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My husband raved when I made this. I used lean pork sirlion and added onion. I didn't have enough soy sauce so I only put in 3/4 cup. But otherwise I followed the directions exactly. Great recipe. I served it with basmati rice and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent! We loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaluwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
it was simple and i added corn starch to thickin up the sauce i also added 1 cup of water because of the salt i used thw ketchup and it was ok next time mayb less sodium
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I gave this rating with my modifications. This receipe was very easy and tasted just the way my grandmother used to make it after I made some changes. 1st of all forget the Catsup that is just not part of Adobo. 2nd I used low salt soy and decreased it to 1/2 a cup. You can always add it is hard to take away. When I made it the first time with all the soy it was just way to salty. The last thing I did was add potatoes about 30 minutes before it was done. I did not use the string beings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
We really love this pork adobo. I add ground ginger to mine and then thicken the sauce at the end with a bit of flour before serving over rice. It has become a regular in the dinner rotation. My two year old just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
the original filipino adobo has no ketchup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I reduced the soy sauce because of other reviews saying it was too much. My husband says it tasted just like the adobo he grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Taste wonderful, but way too salty... Next time I'm only going to use 1/4 cup of lite Soy Sauce and 3/4 cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Does the recipe call for tomato ketchup or the Filipino banana-based ketchup? I don't particularly care for the tomato in this dish. Also, too much vinegar and soy in this recipe for my tastes. I'd prefer 1/2 c vinegar and 1/4 c soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This recipe was good, but it ended up tasting really salty, I'm not sure if that was because it only took 1 hour to cook instead of 2 1/2 hours. After one hour on the stove on low, all of the liquid was gone and it started to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States