Filipino Pork Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was born, raised and still living in the Philippines. I know there are several regional versions of adobo here but I never heard of any with catsup in it. Some of your reviewers were right. It's also too salty. You may do away with the salt. The ratio of vinegar to soy should be 1/2 cup vinegar to 1/4 cup Filipino soy (the Silver Swan brand being the best, if you can get it Stateside). Also, I find the bay leaves too overpowering,1 or 2 would do. Whole peppercorns are usually used and adding pork liver (cut into 1 inch x 2 inch pices) provides a richer and thicker sauce. I usually add more garlic than suggested. Traditionally, adobo does not have vegetables added to the meat. Vegetables are side dishes to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandaluyong City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
the original filipino adobo has no ketchup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The recipe is somewhat incomplete.There is no ketchup is this original dish and you need to use filipino soy sause which is much lower in salt than chinese soy. There is a packet of seasoning for pork adobo at your local asian store made for this dish. cj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I thought I would try it as I grew up with Pork Adobe and was looking for an easy recipe. However, the ketchup ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I gave this rating with my modifications. This receipe was very easy and tasted just the way my grandmother used to make it after I made some changes. 1st of all forget the Catsup that is just not part of Adobo. 2nd I used low salt soy and decreased it to 1/2 a cup. You can always add it is hard to take away. When I made it the first time with all the soy it was just way to salty. The last thing I did was add potatoes about 30 minutes before it was done. I did not use the string beings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe except that I used a little less pork than was called for. We couldn't even eat the pork because it was so incredibly salty! I didn't add any salt, so it was just the soy sauce I used. B/c the other 2 reviews didn't mention the saltiness, I wonder if it is the type of soy sauce I used (an authentic Chinese brand). I'm giving this 2 stars and not 1 star, thinking that the recipe might have good potential if not for the soy sauce I used that made it 10 times too salty to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I reduced the soy sauce because of other reviews saying it was too much. My husband says it tasted just like the adobo he grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Does the recipe call for tomato ketchup or the Filipino banana-based ketchup? I don't particularly care for the tomato in this dish. Also, too much vinegar and soy in this recipe for my tastes. I'd prefer 1/2 c vinegar and 1/4 c soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My husband raved when I made this. I used lean pork sirlion and added onion. I didn't have enough soy sauce so I only put in 3/4 cup. But otherwise I followed the directions exactly. Great recipe. I served it with basmati rice and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
We really love this pork adobo. I add ground ginger to mine and then thicken the sauce at the end with a bit of flour before serving over rice. It has become a regular in the dinner rotation. My two year old just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States