Filipino Pork Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The recipe is somewhat incomplete.There is no ketchup is this original dish and you need to use filipino soy sause which is much lower in salt than chinese soy. There is a packet of seasoning for pork adobo at your local asian store made for this dish. cj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
hmmmmm....never heard of ketchup in filipino adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
the original filipino adobo has no ketchup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Does the recipe call for tomato ketchup or the Filipino banana-based ketchup? I don't particularly care for the tomato in this dish. Also, too much vinegar and soy in this recipe for my tastes. I'd prefer 1/2 c vinegar and 1/4 c soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This must be another variation of the recipe. Original Filipino adobo doesnt have ketchup as one of the ingredients.And too much vinegar, this is only to hint a tangy taste and not to dominate the flacor od the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynolski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe except that I used a little less pork than was called for. We couldn't even eat the pork because it was so incredibly salty! I didn't add any salt, so it was just the soy sauce I used. B/c the other 2 reviews didn't mention the saltiness, I wonder if it is the type of soy sauce I used (an authentic Chinese brand). I'm giving this 2 stars and not 1 star, thinking that the recipe might have good potential if not for the soy sauce I used that made it 10 times too salty to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My husband raved when I made this. I used lean pork sirlion and added onion. I didn't have enough soy sauce so I only put in 3/4 cup. But otherwise I followed the directions exactly. Great recipe. I served it with basmati rice and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
We really love this pork adobo. I add ground ginger to mine and then thicken the sauce at the end with a bit of flour before serving over rice. It has become a regular in the dinner rotation. My two year old just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States