Filipino Pork Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
it was simple and i added corn starch to thickin up the sauce i also added 1 cup of water because of the salt i used thw ketchup and it was ok next time mayb less sodium
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Taste wonderful, but way too salty... Next time I'm only going to use 1/4 cup of lite Soy Sauce and 3/4 cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent! We loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaluwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This recipe was good, but it ended up tasting really salty, I'm not sure if that was because it only took 1 hour to cook instead of 2 1/2 hours. After one hour on the stove on low, all of the liquid was gone and it started to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I gave this rating with my modifications. This receipe was very easy and tasted just the way my grandmother used to make it after I made some changes. 1st of all forget the Catsup that is just not part of Adobo. 2nd I used low salt soy and decreased it to 1/2 a cup. You can always add it is hard to take away. When I made it the first time with all the soy it was just way to salty. The last thing I did was add potatoes about 30 minutes before it was done. I did not use the string beings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This actually turned out pretty good for me, with a few modifications. I left out the ketchup because that just doesn't sound appealing to me. I used low sodium soy sauce, distilled white vinegar, and a little bit of rice vinegar to add some sweetness. I used whole peppercorns instead of ground black pepper. After simmering the pork I fried it in a little bit of olive oil (as is traditionally how it's done) allowing the sauce to reduce and thicken a bit. I left out the green beans as well.....didn't seem like it went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I guess if you love vinegar then you willl like this but that is ALL I could taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I thought I would try it as I grew up with Pork Adobe and was looking for an easy recipe. However, the ketchup ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was born, raised and still living in the Philippines. I know there are several regional versions of adobo here but I never heard of any with catsup in it. Some of your reviewers were right. It's also too salty. You may do away with the salt. The ratio of vinegar to soy should be 1/2 cup vinegar to 1/4 cup Filipino soy (the Silver Swan brand being the best, if you can get it Stateside). Also, I find the bay leaves too overpowering,1 or 2 would do. Whole peppercorns are usually used and adding pork liver (cut into 1 inch x 2 inch pices) provides a richer and thicker sauce. I usually add more garlic than suggested. Traditionally, adobo does not have vegetables added to the meat. Vegetables are side dishes to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandaluyong City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I reduced the soy sauce because of other reviews saying it was too much. My husband says it tasted just like the adobo he grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States