Filipino Oxtail Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sandovaljl
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
The flavoring is just like grandma's cooking! Would maybe use less water to make this recipe thicker. Loved the tip of adding 1 tbspn fish sauce. Loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaine
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So good. Better than what my mom made hahah! But don't tell her I said that. I used 2.25 lbs of oxtail instead, which turned out for the better because I found myself wanting more of the meat. I simmered for around 2.5 hours and it came right off the bone. I added peanut butter to taste and used annatto powder (also called achiote powder) to get that rich golden color. Eat with sautéed shrimp paste (usually found at an Asian market) and sprinkle with cayenne powder for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Surprised the wifey with this. She loved it. I used baby bok choy and creamy peanut butter. Next time i want to use crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cbt92g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
missing some important but hard to find ingredients like banana flowers and some tuber. Also, some reviewers commented about the stew not having enough flavor. This dish is not supposed to have much strong or salty flavor. Like many filipino dishes, you pretty much season them yourself as you eat. A typical seasoning to this would be salted shrimp pastes or salted anchovies. You take some rice with your spoon, add some of the stew, then add some of the salty seasoning and eat. Or if you want to be more traditional, eat with your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Reminds me and my siblings of home. Tried this recipe and it was yummy. Just a few changes, though. First I seared the oxtail on both sides to add taste and texture. Then towards the end also added a bit of fish sauce (1 Tablespoon) for that oomph! Now my brother and sister request this when they visit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jheni77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is one of my favorite foods--I daydream about it when I know I'm going to have it for dinner! One thing that really helps it be excellent is to use BEEF BROTH or BEEF BOUILLON instead of plain water! I also put some cayenne pepper in, and we eat it over rice--YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated;and it was very good, but I felt something was missing. I would have given it a 3-star rating after the first attempt... However, I made it a second time, with the following changes/additions: First, in addition to the oxtails, I added about a pound of beef stew meat. (I am matriarch to a family of carnivores!) Then, I browned all of the meat at high heat....using half canola and half olive oil, and I lightly salted and peppered it. This step is so important (to me) in order to flavor the broth! Then I added about a cup of red wine to de-glaze the pot, scraping all of the little crispies from browning the meat. From this point, I followed the recipe pretty closely. (Pretty closely, because I also added fresh Thai basil and marjoram when I added the veggies.) I served it over brown rice, with a wonderful crusty Portuguese bread...it was really an international meal by the time I finished with it! All of my changes bumped the recipe to a 5-star, but I don't know how authentic it is now! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Used veggie burgers instead of the beef. Liked it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Delicious! I was skeptical about the peanut butter but it was absolutely wonderful. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is my all-time favourite Filipino dish! I always have my dad make it when I visit home :) This recipe is pretty much how I make mine, however, there are a few difference: 1) I also add a pound of stewing beef to the oxtail to make it "meatier", 2) I don't use bok choy and it still has enough vegetables in it, 3) I mix the peanut butter right into the broth - the heat melts it right away, 4) I like using crunchy peanut butter for more texture. Great recipe! Everyone should try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States