Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
i have grown up eating lumpia my whole life. i grew up in California and had a lot of Fillipino influences around me. we have a variety of sauces we use in my family. plum sauce is what i grew up with and still crave it every once and a while to this day. we also get a sweet chili sauce. you can find this in asian markets. its bright orange with little red flakes in the sauce. thats my familys favorite. my mom makes a sauce that is MY favorite with 1 cup white vinegar (or you can use rice vinegar for a more mild taste) 1 tablespoon minced garlic and black pepper. sounds odd but its just amazing! my boyfriend likes sweet and sour sauce on his (he prefers the ones that are more red than orange). i hope that helps with your dipping needs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madsthegr8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I like this recipes.I converted it to be vegan recipe which was good. I will post the vegan version for sure today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
My wife used egg roll wrappers and shaped them like egg rolls, and they were excellent. We froze the left overs and thawed the out a couple of months later- still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My family lived in the philippines when I was little,and we would have this every Sunday for dinner!It was served with fried rice and apple sauce.We changed it some when we got back to the states though.I use just ground chuck,potatoes,green beans,onion,and carrots.All chopped real small,and make sure you put the potatoes in the meat mixture first.I also use lumpia rolls,I like the square ones as well they are easier to unwrap.After reading this I think I will try some soy sauce in it .My family loves this,we even do it for Chrismas or Thanksgiving dinner at times!It brings back great memories,thanks for having it on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Jen, you forgot the important parts of this recipe such as soy sauce, salt & pepper, garlic powder or granulated, and egg yolks (u need the egg whites to seal the lumpias . It's actually good if you chop the leaves of the celery finely and put into the mix also. But before you start wrapping, cook a teaspoon of the mix in a pan to make sure the seasonings are right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My boyfriend is Filipino and decided to try his hand at lumpia. He followed this recipe for the most part...he used shrimp and pulled chicken to the vegetable mix and we got lumpia wrappers from the grocery store. The lumpia was awesome and I all ready have requests from friends for him to make more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is amazing!! My whole family loves this. But I just get a bag of cole slaw instead of cutting myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
In my family, we use chopped green onions instead of regular onion. It also helps to mix the meat with an egg or two (1 egg per pound of meat), and then seal all the edges with egg as you fold it. We use the round lumpia wrappers, cut them in half, spoon a heaping teaspoon of meat mixture on top near the cut edge, and thin it out in a line about the length of your index finger. Then you you wet the cut edge with egg and fold it over the meat mixture. Wet the two sides with egg and alternately fold them over the meat mixture. Then wet the remaining edge with egg and roll towards it, sealing it smooth with your finger. Trust me, you now have a heavy-duty eggroll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
We didn't find this that time consuming, with two people rolling. No need to cook the meat ahead of time. We used a sweet chili sauce for dipping and will definitely make these again! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I cooked my beef and pork before I added the veggies. I also added about 1 tbl. of soy and one egg to the meat and veggie mix. The square wrappers work the best. Make sure to seal them well with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States