Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I changed the recipe and came up with a winner! Do not use bell pepper! Makes egg rolls taste bitter. I take two bags of bean sprouts, four green onions, chopped, shred two carrots, add one cup shredded cheddar cheese, 1 1/2 pounds ground hamburger, 2 Tbsp. soy sauce. Pepper to taste. I use egg roll wrapper that you can find at any store. Brown hamburger, drain all oil. Add all other ingredients and cook on low for five minutes. Drain all mixture in collander. Add shredded cheese. Mix. Roll in egg roll wrapper. Deep fry until golden brown. Serve with sweet and sour sauce. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Allsup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I love lumpia. You will only find banana ketchup at the Asian markets that specialize in Filipino foods only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
More veggies, less grease. ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Good recipe but I add raisins to mine. Banana sauce is sold at most asian markets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Love this.. I have made before and usually end up using a little bit of soy sauce when cooking the pork for a little added flavor. It was a bit hit with my spicy pineapple dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I like to use all pork and sometimes add chopped cooked shrimp at the end. I also like to season the mixture with salt, pepper, garlic powder and a bit of soy sauce. Shredded cabbage is good in this as well as chopped scallions. To dip, I like to make a sauce of equal parts brown sugar and water boiled down with a bit of cornstarch to thicken and then seasoned with garlic powder and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
One of my favorites!! My mom is Filipino and over the years taught me how to make Lumpia. It has become a hit with all my friends and my fiance and his family. We generally use pork only in ours and instead of bell pepper, we use a couple of celery stalks and add some green onion as well. You can chop everything (individually) in a food processor. Helps the time go faster. They are great to freeze and cook later when that craving hits you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Last night we followed this recipe to the T, what we ended up with was bland and burnt food that was not cooked in the middle and we had to microwave to get it cooked. Reason why was because 2 tbsp of filling is WAY too much and it also needs some seasonings added. Today with the leftover meat I added freshly ground pepper and Worcestershire sauce to taste and browned the meat and vegetables. Then I only put 1 tbsp filling into the wrapper and used less oil to cook them in, they came out the right size and cooked through and much better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pollyv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brackley, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
So yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i have found a recipe for filipino lumpia wrappers on line : 1 cup sifted flour, one and half cups water and one egg white whisk till smooth put in lightly greased pan and make real thin cook till you can shake it loose don't try to get it out before done or wont work practice makes perfect, cool and put in zip lock bag to save or use with lumpia recipe. I had hard time finding the wrappers so hope this helps. Deean NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deean Burney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States