Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Okay, I only made the pork and vegetables, skipped the wrappers and frying because I'm trying to lose some lbs. But, it was still great. The only thing I did differently was substitute sesame oil for vegetable oil and added fresh ginger. I can imagine this would be amazing wrapped up and fried, yum. I WILL try that some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I make lumpias all the time and this is my go to recipe. I would be making them everyday if all the prepping and chopping wasn't so tedious. I typically use ground chicken rather than pork for personal preference and it tastes awesome. sometimes I make them vegetarian by swapping out meat and replace with diced firm tofu and re-hydrated shitake mushrooms. It is crucial to buy lumpia wrappers from Asian markets since most American brands are much thicker and pricier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YennieMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I would double the garlic and cabbage next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Gadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We really enjoyed this lumpia recipe. I didn't make any changes. I will probably double next time and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These were excellent! The filling was so fragrant while cooking. This was my first time using lumpia wrappers- they were a little difficult to work with but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This recipe was awesome and yielded restaurant quality crispy lumpia. I thought the recipe for the filling was 100% perfect. Since this was my first time ever dealing with lumpia wrappers, I experienced some technical challenges. Lumpia wrappers are highly delicate (just like filo dough.) You must keep them covered with a damp cloth during use or they will dry out. Separate into sheets very carefully to prevent tearing. Since it was my first time, I ripped a few during the wrapping process. The only thing I added was egg wash to seal my wrapper. I used the round wrappers as well which have a different wrapping procedure from the square ones. As soon as they hit the oil, they form the crisp shell very quickly. This was such a good recipe and my family really enjoyed it. It will be added to the list of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Ive made this recipe since 1989, ive sorta made it my own i use chopped green pepper,soy sauce teryaki sauce,onion and garlic powder carrotts salt and i make it with ground beef instead of pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My Filipino (Bicol) father is a FANTASTIC cook so therefore I "allow" him to do all the Filipino cooking. I wanted to make lumpia myself and couldn't remember all the ingredients so I used this with my dad's alterations. This is very similar to his recipe except: he cuts the carrots into very small matchsticks, does not use green onion, salt or soy sauce and adds finely minced water chestnuts and a little grated ginger. My sister adds a little oyster sauce to the mix. I think there is too much filing per lumpia in this recipe. I would use only 1 tablespoon. We make them much thinner than egg/spring rolls. We always dip in a blend of soy sauce, lemon juice and finely chopped green onion. My aunt taught me how to make my own wrappers when I was very young but I find it quicker and easier to buy spring roll wrappers. I buy small wrappers (3" x 3") 50 to a pack for less than $2.00. I think there as many variations of lumpia as there are people who make them. Use this as a basic recipe and change to your family's tastes or traditions - but make them with your family because making, rolling and frying lumpia is a great bonding experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States