Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
As as child in my hometown, there was a large Filipino community. Therefore, I grew up on Lumpia. ( They are so superior to Chinese eggrolls. ) Also, Lumpia wrappers are readily available in most Asian markets. Perhaps for this good review in return the submitter, Christina could add on this web site a recipe for pancit ? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
DON'T BE AFRAID! Make these! I did and they are delicious. They were VERY easy to make and assemble. Ingredients were easy to find. I used pre-shredded "fancy" cabbage and carrot match- sticks to save on time. I used about 1.5 cups of cabbage in the "meat mixture" and still would prefer more. The flavors were perfect. Make these ahead of time and freeze; fry up right before serving. They stay HOT for a long time. Great recipe. Will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This is very close to the recipe my mom used as I was growing up. She would make 50-100 at a time and freeze whatever wasn't used. You don't need to defrost them when you're ready to cook. Remember when frying the lumpia, put the seam down first - it helps to seal it better. The dipping sauce we used was a mix of vinegar, pepper, crushed garlic and tiny chilies (and/or some soy sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My boyfriend is Filipino and I've eaten lumpia at every party and get-together we've had with his family. This recipe is the closest thing to the lumpia his mother makes. The only changes I tried were to half the green onions and add in 1/4 cup chopped fresh green beans, omit the salt and use low sodium soy sauce and add 2 tsps Adobo seasoning to the meat. This adds a little more flavor without too much extra salt. I also doubled the recipe and made beef, beef and pork, and just pork lumpia. We like the mixture of beef and pork best! We also dip our lumpia in a sweet chili sauce, which can be found in any asian market. This is a GREAT recipe! Thanks Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. My grandma Talin used to make these and they were delicious, but I never got her recipe. I remember her adding a handful of raisins to the filling, too..maybe not traditional, but very tasty. Also, we dip our lumpia in banana ketchup (sold in Asian markets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was delicious, I confess to a small modification. I added about double the cabbage and then I added about 2 tbsps of sugar to the filling. It didn't sweeten it so much as smooth out the flavors. Lumpia wrappers are time consuming to separate, but very tasty. I have made this several times and keep getting happier with my efforts. I substituted chicken for the pork and wonton wrappers for the lumpia wrappers once and they were still good. My 3 year old must have an asbestos mouth, because she grabs them up as fast as she can get her hands on them and they disappear. This has already become a favorite around here. Thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Positively delicious! (hey guys!) This makes a terrific appetizer, but my gang prefered this as part of their meal. I'm fortuante to have a terrific Asian market in the area, so the wrappers were easy to find. (by the way, there is a pancit recipe on this site) Also wonderful! Thanks so much Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I've tried the other Lumpia recipes on this site and they do not even compare to this one. These turned out delicious! Everyone in my family absolutely loved them. I even froze half of them and cooked them a couple of weeks later and they tasted just as good as the first batch. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My mom is Filipino and she said this was how she made lumpia!! I took it to a Sunday School party and it was a huge hit! I've been instructed that I can bring nothing else to SS parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This recipe was excellent!!! It was very easy to make and it is a hit with my family and friends. They freeze really well too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States