Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This is very close to the recipe my mom used as I was growing up. She would make 50-100 at a time and freeze whatever wasn't used. You don't need to defrost them when you're ready to cook. Remember when frying the lumpia, put the seam down first - it helps to seal it better. The dipping sauce we used was a mix of vinegar, pepper, crushed garlic and tiny chilies (and/or some soy sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
406 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My boyfriend is Filipino and I've eaten lumpia at every party and get-together we've had with his family. This recipe is the closest thing to the lumpia his mother makes. The only changes I tried were to half the green onions and add in 1/4 cup chopped fresh green beans, omit the salt and use low sodium soy sauce and add 2 tsps Adobo seasoning to the meat. This adds a little more flavor without too much extra salt. I also doubled the recipe and made beef, beef and pork, and just pork lumpia. We like the mixture of beef and pork best! We also dip our lumpia in a sweet chili sauce, which can be found in any asian market. This is a GREAT recipe! Thanks Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very very good! Very easy to do too. I ended up with about 15-16 rolls though. I chopped the veggies in the food processor. I used a pastry brush to brush some water on the ends of the wrappers to seal them. I fried them 3-4 at a time in my deep frier. One of my favorite recipes from this site so far. I've made these with shrimp/pork mixture and they are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is a great recipe! However, I reccommend adding 1 head of cabbage and 4 medium sized carrots. The extra veggies just seem to add to the flavor and turn out just like I remember them from when I was a child. I also reccommend trying a apple cider vinegar and garlic dipping sauce--4 cloves garlic to 1 cup apple vinegar. Thanks for the great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
As as child in my hometown, there was a large Filipino community. Therefore, I grew up on Lumpia. ( They are so superior to Chinese eggrolls. ) Also, Lumpia wrappers are readily available in most Asian markets. Perhaps for this good review in return the submitter, Christina could add on this web site a recipe for pancit ? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Positively delicious! (hey guys!) This makes a terrific appetizer, but my gang prefered this as part of their meal. I'm fortuante to have a terrific Asian market in the area, so the wrappers were easy to find. (by the way, there is a pancit recipe on this site) Also wonderful! Thanks so much Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I've tried the other Lumpia recipes on this site and they do not even compare to this one. These turned out delicious! Everyone in my family absolutely loved them. I even froze half of them and cooked them a couple of weeks later and they tasted just as good as the first batch. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I liked the filling but thought it could have used a little more flavor. I didn't have the lumpia...actually this is the first time I've heard of lumpia. I couldn't find any at my local supermarket, but I had plenty of wonton wrappers in my fridge. We made mini-eggrolls with them and ate every one! I made a dipping sauce out of orange marmalade, dijon mustard and horseradish to taste. Thanks for submitting Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
this was a big hit with my family and friends who have never tried lumpia. i had to use eggroll wraps as there are no asian markets in the area. but when i was in the PI i remember that they were a lot smaller..are the lumpia wraps smaller?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've had lumpia many times over the years and this recipe rates right up there with the best. I want to point out that it makes 30, as indicated, but you have to use 3 teaspoons of filling, not tablespoons. If you use tablespoons, you'll end up with about 10 lumpia the size of an eggroll. One of the notable differences about lumpia is that it's tightly rolled, small in diameter, and doesn't have a lot of filling in it. See my blog for additional pictures showing how I rolled the lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States