Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
As as child in my hometown, there was a large Filipino community. Therefore, I grew up on Lumpia. ( They are so superior to Chinese eggrolls. ) Also, Lumpia wrappers are readily available in most Asian markets. Perhaps for this good review in return the submitter, Christina could add on this web site a recipe for pancit ? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This is very close to the recipe my mom used as I was growing up. She would make 50-100 at a time and freeze whatever wasn't used. You don't need to defrost them when you're ready to cook. Remember when frying the lumpia, put the seam down first - it helps to seal it better. The dipping sauce we used was a mix of vinegar, pepper, crushed garlic and tiny chilies (and/or some soy sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. My grandma Talin used to make these and they were delicious, but I never got her recipe. I remember her adding a handful of raisins to the filling, too..maybe not traditional, but very tasty. Also, we dip our lumpia in banana ketchup (sold in Asian markets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was delicious, I confess to a small modification. I added about double the cabbage and then I added about 2 tbsps of sugar to the filling. It didn't sweeten it so much as smooth out the flavors. Lumpia wrappers are time consuming to separate, but very tasty. I have made this several times and keep getting happier with my efforts. I substituted chicken for the pork and wonton wrappers for the lumpia wrappers once and they were still good. My 3 year old must have an asbestos mouth, because she grabs them up as fast as she can get her hands on them and they disappear. This has already become a favorite around here. Thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Born and raised in Hawaii, I ate alot of Lumpia's. This one wasn't to my liking, but it may have been because of the wrap. Where I live they don't have Asian Markets to buy the wrappers you need. I had to use Egg Roll Wrappers which is not what you use for Lumpia, it's thicker than the traditional Lumpia Wrappers. But, my husband took it to work and all 20 were guzzled by his co-workers within 5 minutes. They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My mom is Filipino and she said this was how she made lumpia!! I took it to a Sunday School party and it was a huge hit! I've been instructed that I can bring nothing else to SS parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
DON'T BE AFRAID! Make these! I did and they are delicious. They were VERY easy to make and assemble. Ingredients were easy to find. I used pre-shredded "fancy" cabbage and carrot match- sticks to save on time. I used about 1.5 cups of cabbage in the "meat mixture" and still would prefer more. The flavors were perfect. Make these ahead of time and freeze; fry up right before serving. They stay HOT for a long time. Great recipe. Will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Positively delicious! (hey guys!) This makes a terrific appetizer, but my gang prefered this as part of their meal. I'm fortuante to have a terrific Asian market in the area, so the wrappers were easy to find. (by the way, there is a pancit recipe on this site) Also wonderful! Thanks so much Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I liked the filling but thought it could have used a little more flavor. I didn't have the lumpia...actually this is the first time I've heard of lumpia. I couldn't find any at my local supermarket, but I had plenty of wonton wrappers in my fridge. We made mini-eggrolls with them and ate every one! I made a dipping sauce out of orange marmalade, dijon mustard and horseradish to taste. Thanks for submitting Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This recipe was excellent!!! It was very easy to make and it is a hit with my family and friends. They freeze really well too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States