Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Wonderful recipe and truly easy! Only two changes as we don't eat any "red meat". Used 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 turkey italian sausage and fried in evoo vs. veggie oil. Made 21 and there were NONE left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These are amazing! My mother is from the Philippines and makes Lumpia quite often. These taste just like hers. You really can't eat just one, they really are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have been a USMC wife for 35+ years and this recipe is the closest i have seen to the one taught to me by a close friend who had also married a Marine. She was new to the US from the Phillipines. My family eat these as a meal with rice and asian veggies on side. my husband perfers to americanize his, with catsup as his dipping sauce. thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I added about 4 oz of sliced button mushrooms when I added the cabbage. The only problem I had was the lumpia wrappers were so thin that they wouldn't stay together until I started wrapping with 2 wrappers, then it worked much better. Not sure I like the wrappers as much as I like eggroll wrappers. The filling was spot-on though, therefore, 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The rolls were really tasty and I would'nt change a thing. I made only 20 and my family said,"Next time make more!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurinburg, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great recipe, very close to the orginal recipe that was taught to me as a child. The only change that I would make is to add bakchoy cabbage and cilantro both finely chopped. The trick is to make sure that all ingredents are minced in food processor and then add ground pork. I find that using 1 pound of pork and 2 pounds of veggies balances the rolls. This is a family and gathering favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tncooklover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is great. I made exactly as recipe states and it is a big hit with my family. I'm going to be making this for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These lumpias have become a family tradition during the holidays. The only change I made was to used WonTon wrappers, it is much easier to use than the spring roll wrappers. Spoon a tsp of mixture into the center, then roll into a smaller version of the spring roll. The result is a 2 bite appetizer or side dish that everyone really loves. The trick is to get the oil hot, then each lumpia only takes about 30 seconds on each side to cook. I usually have to buy 2 package of 50 ct WonTon Wrappers to use up all the filling, makes about 75 lumpias. I used La Choy Sweet and Sour sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Best Lumpia I have EVER had!! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen_flip0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe!! My friend makes lumpia's but never finished giving me the recipe. This one tastes exactly like hers. I made2 adjustments- I mixed jimmy dean sausage roll with ground beef- YUM!! and I seasoned with a little adobo along with seasoning mentioned. They came out delicious!!! Was able to freeze 15 and we ate up 15 between the 3 of us...:-) Served with Sweet chilli sauce! (the lumpia papers are a headache to work with but sooo worth the effort.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States