Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It's OK, a little light on flavor. I added 1 Tbsp oyster sauce and it still tasted a little light. Might want to add more something to it. Good way to cook w/o a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, except used ground sirloin instead of ground pork and used egg roll wrappers instead of lumpia wrappers (I'm not sure if there is a difference?). The shredded the carrot instead of mincing. They were a huge, huge, HUGE hit with my husband and three picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this once using ground beef but I botched it badly by not heating the oil enough and the wraps were oil-soaked :( As for the recipe itself, I found there were not enough veggies in it. Next time I will double the amount, particularly cabbage. And, of course, ensure the oil is hot enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The only thing I changed in this recipe cabbage. I didn't put any in. But this recipe is still as good as the one my mom and dad makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had some mini lumpias at a get together years ago and loved them. so when I saw this recipe I just had to try it. It worked like a charm. After the first two, wrapping was easy. Instead of frying them I sprayed them with Pam and cooked them in a small convection oven till a light golden color. Everyone loved them. I got about twenty-five out of the batch. Now I freeze them in layers, in an airthight container separated by sprayed wax paper. Whenever I want, I just pop a couple into the conv Oven and use them as sides with stir fry or even with with a nice bowl of noodles in broth. A great recipe for finger food parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I grew up with Filipino food and this recipe is fantastic. I make my lumpia a little bigger so it only made about 18, rather than 30, but they were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Wonderful recipe and truly easy! Only two changes as we don't eat any "red meat". Used 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 turkey italian sausage and fried in evoo vs. veggie oil. Made 21 and there were NONE left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These are amazing! My mother is from the Philippines and makes Lumpia quite often. These taste just like hers. You really can't eat just one, they really are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have been a USMC wife for 35+ years and this recipe is the closest i have seen to the one taught to me by a close friend who had also married a Marine. She was new to the US from the Phillipines. My family eat these as a meal with rice and asian veggies on side. my husband perfers to americanize his, with catsup as his dipping sauce. thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I added about 4 oz of sliced button mushrooms when I added the cabbage. The only problem I had was the lumpia wrappers were so thin that they wouldn't stay together until I started wrapping with 2 wrappers, then it worked much better. Not sure I like the wrappers as much as I like eggroll wrappers. The filling was spot-on though, therefore, 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States