Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were pretty good fresh out of the fryer but when I served them at the party they had developed into a bland and heavy thing. I did use eggroll wrappers which I think are bigger (and therefore detract from the filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These lumpia turned out okay; made as directed, and yielded only 15. The main issue was that the filling was too loose, which made consuming the lumpia difficult (filling fell out). One positive - I used grapeseed oil for the frying, and it was better than any other oil I've used in the past, as it did not smoke, maintained temp, and there was no notable flavor from the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Delicious! Used some left-over pork loin roast which I ground up in my food processor. Heated up with the cooked carrots, green onion and cabbage. I added a bit more soy sauce. I used wonton wrappers and also used sweet and sour sauce for dipping. I must not have used a pound of pork as this made 10 won ton wrappers, which I filled with heaping 3 Tbsl. of the filling. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Will be making again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
AMAZING!!!! I used ground beef in place of the pork but otherwise made as directed. I found the wrappers at my local asian mart and the prices on the ingredients were a third of the price in the grocery store. I would not use won ton or egg roll wrappers due to the thickness. I served them with a sweet chili sauce and fried rice. So good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I like the recipe as is. It was not as good as some I have hade but maybe it was the cook. I made changes and my family loves it. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It's OK, a little light on flavor. I added 1 Tbsp oyster sauce and it still tasted a little light. Might want to add more something to it. Good way to cook w/o a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, except used ground sirloin instead of ground pork and used egg roll wrappers instead of lumpia wrappers (I'm not sure if there is a difference?). The shredded the carrot instead of mincing. They were a huge, huge, HUGE hit with my husband and three picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this once using ground beef but I botched it badly by not heating the oil enough and the wraps were oil-soaked :( As for the recipe itself, I found there were not enough veggies in it. Next time I will double the amount, particularly cabbage. And, of course, ensure the oil is hot enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The only thing I changed in this recipe cabbage. I didn't put any in. But this recipe is still as good as the one my mom and dad makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had some mini lumpias at a get together years ago and loved them. so when I saw this recipe I just had to try it. It worked like a charm. After the first two, wrapping was easy. Instead of frying them I sprayed them with Pam and cooked them in a small convection oven till a light golden color. Everyone loved them. I got about twenty-five out of the batch. Now I freeze them in layers, in an airthight container separated by sprayed wax paper. Whenever I want, I just pop a couple into the conv Oven and use them as sides with stir fry or even with with a nice bowl of noodles in broth. A great recipe for finger food parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States