Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These tasted great. Even the filipina girls at work were impressed. These are very time consuming so I make 50-100 at a time and freeze them for later. I use banana sauce or all purpose sauce from the oriental market on them. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely perfect as written - no need to change a thing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keena_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I never heard of lumpias until my coworker brought them for potluck. These things are soooo yummy and satisfying. I didn't have lumpia wrappers so I used egg roll wrappers instead, which made the lumpias rather oily. Next time I'll try the lumpia wrappers and I'm sure they will turn out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latehmocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I make lumpia all the time. I don't add cabbage, but I do add green pepper. To kick it up a bit I take half my meat mixture and add a couple of chopped serrano peppers and some cilantro. I also use at least a head of garlic. No green onions, soy sauce, garlic powder. If you can't find lumpia wrappers spring roll wrappers work pretty good. I was taught by a Filipino Woman while we were in the Air Force.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These were soooo yummy. I served them with a store bought bottle of Red Chili dipping sauce. I served them at a dinner party and both adults and children alike gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
FABULOUS!!! Living in San Diego I've had the opportunity to sample many Lumpia made by Filipino's who probably grew up making these little gems and this recipe tastes just like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Just what I'm looking for. I didn't add the garlic powder & still turned out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
The most awesome and easy lumpia recipe there is. YOU MUST MAKE THESE AND FALL IN LOVE! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These are a BIG hit!! I use ground beef eggroll wraps and a little more cabbage. These never last long at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This recipe is good and very close to my family's recipe. Only a few things were missing, like bean sprouts and string beans. The bean sprouts you keep whole as for the string beans you actually cut at a bias (diagonal) into very thin slices. Instead of mincing some of the ingredients you would actually cut them into Julienne. Now the recipe asks for lumpia wrappers which isn't very precise. In my opinion Menlo all purpose wrappers work the best, it comes in a red package with chinese writing on the right side and you can find these wrappers at almost any Filipino store. Also if anyone is interested in a very simple dipping sauce for Lumpia..... believe it or not vinegar and garlic is the typical choice for any filipino. Just take a few garlic cloves and smack them a few times just to take the skins off and to release the garlics flavor and mix it in with vinegar and some salt. Very traditional Lumpia dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States