Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These were great! I used ground beef. I prefer more cabbage/carrots to my lumpias but this is good as written. I only got 20 rolls by using 2 heaping tablespoons. The best way to seal is to make flour and water mix until paste consistency. Used Mae Ploy's sweet chili sauce or a filipino vinaigrette dip. Update: I added more cabbage/carrots and had exactly 30 rolls using the same 2 heaping tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I grew in a Filipino neighborhood and have always been such a huge fan of their lumpia.. never made them til now. I found it a lot easier than I thought it would be. Not to mention, TASTY!!!! Now the only issues I had are the size of the wrappers... I will cut them diagonally in half next time and also use egg yolk to make the wrapper stick shut. But the recipe itself was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I love this stuff specially when you use fish meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I used won ton wrappers (easily found in most stores) and rolled on a diagonal. A little more than a tablespoon of filling per wrapper. I did follow a suggestion to put everything in the food processor. I did this with the veggies before sauteing them and back in the food processor with the meat after everything was cooked. I added a T of Better Than Bouillon while blending. And served them with (mild) Sweet Chili Sauce. Yum...the flavor was great. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
ready to make s'more! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great recipe easy to follow just chaged the ground pork to ground turkey and seasoned it and it came out great!!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Absolutly amazing! It was super easy for my husband and I to make (neither one of us is Filipino, but we have had several friends make lumpia for us) We made the entire recipe...and between us and our 2 (small) children, we ate it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good recipe! Omitted green cabbage and used deep fryer. Use paper plates (not the type with shiny surfaces) and paper towels to drain them. Dip in sweet and sour sauce. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This might be a little time consuming, but it freezes well and is delicious every time. I have tried this recipe, as is and with changes, and it's a huge hit every time. Here is what I have found works best for me: The half pork and half beef mixture is tastiest, although I personally prefer to use a mushroom and some meat mixture. Sesame oil tastes great for frying or baking. We use low sodium soy sauce and no salt or it’s too salty and overpowers the veggies. We don’t use garlic powder; we just up the fresh garlic. We found we need more seasoning then the recipe calls for so we season to taste as everything is cooking. As another reader suggested add some thinly sliced green beans. I recommend adding about half a small can of chopped water chestnuts which will soak in flavor yet remain crunchy. You can use most veggies without fear as long as you remember to keep the ratio of soft & crunchy, and adjust the seasoning/sauce as needed. If you have a good food processors then use it. You really do want small pieces of everything mixed together. I feel the Menlo wrappers work best, but pretty much any lumpia/egg roll/ wonton wrapper can be substituted with good results. Oh and just in case, Youtube how to fill the rolls before you do it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States