Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good recipe! Omitted green cabbage and used deep fryer. Use paper plates (not the type with shiny surfaces) and paper towels to drain them. Dip in sweet and sour sauce. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This might be a little time consuming, but it freezes well and is delicious every time. I have tried this recipe, as is and with changes, and it's a huge hit every time. Here is what I have found works best for me: The half pork and half beef mixture is tastiest, although I personally prefer to use a mushroom and some meat mixture. Sesame oil tastes great for frying or baking. We use low sodium soy sauce and no salt or it’s too salty and overpowers the veggies. We don’t use garlic powder; we just up the fresh garlic. We found we need more seasoning then the recipe calls for so we season to taste as everything is cooking. As another reader suggested add some thinly sliced green beans. I recommend adding about half a small can of chopped water chestnuts which will soak in flavor yet remain crunchy. You can use most veggies without fear as long as you remember to keep the ratio of soft & crunchy, and adjust the seasoning/sauce as needed. If you have a good food processors then use it. You really do want small pieces of everything mixed together. I feel the Menlo wrappers work best, but pretty much any lumpia/egg roll/ wonton wrapper can be substituted with good results. Oh and just in case, Youtube how to fill the rolls before you do it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These are really good. I add raisins to mine and you would not believe how wonderful they are. I make a dipping sauce for them out of vinegar (1/4 cup), sugar (1 1/2 teaspoons), and pepper (1 teaspoon). Stir well and dip lumpia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
very yummy thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Outstanding! I omitted the cabbage since my husband is on blood thinners and can't have the vit K, but was still great! As another reviewer wrote, use only 3 teaspoons (not 3 tablespoons) per wrapper. Without the cabbage, it made 21 rolls. I served with bottled Thai sweet chili sauce in a bowl. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mel

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
The first time I made these..it was a semi disaster.. The filling was good but when I tried adding them to the lumpia rolls I think I put too much filling in and they didn't look like lumpias..they looked like egg rolls and tasted like them too.I was very disappointed!.I put the filling in the fridge and went to sleep VERY frustrated.. I love eating lumpias..SO The next day I looked on YOU TUBE to see how to roll the lumpias and how much filling to put in.. AHH..it was very helpful.. I suggest putting 2 teaspoons of filling in and watching YOU TUBE video on how to roll the lumpias.. They came out so much better and tasted more like lumpias! Also, don't forget the sweet chili dipping sauce! Next time I'm going to try with ground beef 'cause I love ground beef lumpias..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I almost wish I had never tried this recipe. I almost wish I didn't know how easy and cheap it is to make these in my own kitchen. Now I find myself standing in my kitchen in the morning wondering how lumpia would go with my coffee. Seriously, these things are so easy and awesome. My boyfriend (who eats like a bird) ate 7 of them. And they are full of veggies! So what if it's fried veggies, at least they're there! Like I said, try this recipe only if you want to open the door to breakfast lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shesinparties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This tastes EXACTLY like the lumpia the lumpia my friend from the Philippines makes. It is amazing and so easy to make! Just a note...fresh rice paper or frozen rice paper are easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These were fantastic! Made them for a party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I bought a bag of cole slaw mix and added canned mini shrimps instead of pork. I used a little too much salt (didn't measure salt), but they otherwise tasted good. I'll try again tomorrow using pork and less salt. Best I've tried. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States