Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Absolutely great. As suggested, I added a teaspoon of Adobo seasoning to the meat and used 1/3 lb. of beef and 2/3 lb of pork. I also added a half a cup of chopped mushrooms to the onions and garlic. The lumpia turned out to be delicious. I froze some for use later. I think the cabbage could be doubled without problem and may even be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
It is a good recipe. However, my mother was born and raised in the Philippines and the traditional way to make Lumpia is to not cook the meat because it gives it more flavor. It will be cooked because the Lumpia will cook with the heat of the oil. You should cook on low 3-4 minutes, and you add an egg to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MC1290

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a great base recipe. Lumpia recipes are flexible and you can add or subtract whatever you want. Traditionally the raw meat is mixed with the spices, rolled, and cooked. One advantage to precooking the meat is you can add more spices/ingredients to taste after the meat is cooked. Before I remove the final mixture from the stove I will add dashes of soy sauce, oyster sauce, and sesame oil until it tastes the way I want it. Another good tip is to let the final mixture sit over night. This makes a big difference in the following: 1. the juices/spices coagulate and soak into the meat giving a much nicer flaver 2. Rolling is much easier because the filling is no longer wet and soaking into the wrappers 3. Since the wrappers don't absorb all of the moisture, they brown very slowly and you get a super crisp lumpia without over browning the outside and blackening the ends. Thanks again for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wonderful!! First time we made this we used the wrong wrappers and they turned out not so good. Well we went to the Asian market and bought the right papers and it turned it great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were absolutely delicious, and tasted just like lumpia I tried at an ethnic food festival. Sometimes when I prepare Asian food it's blander than I would like, but these were richly flavored. I was prepared to use spring roll wrappers, but happily was able to find lumpia wrappers at my local Asian market. My only disappointment was that the amount of filling I had only filled about a dozen lumpia. I might double the filling amount next time, because it's a shame to let all those extra lumpia wrappers go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My husband and I really LOVE this recipe as is! When I have the time, I place the filling mixture in the fridge for a few hours so the flavors can mix together. This recipe is even great to make a few days before (without frying), freeze the egg rolls, and then fry them fresh! SO yummy!! Definitely a keeper-recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlwolf84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made these tonight and my family just LOVED them!! I made it with ground chicken instead of the pork. I will be keeping this recipe and making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munafleah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These were great! I used ground beef. I prefer more cabbage/carrots to my lumpias but this is good as written. I only got 20 rolls by using 2 heaping tablespoons. The best way to seal is to make flour and water mix until paste consistency. Used Mae Ploy's sweet chili sauce or a filipino vinaigrette dip. Update: I added more cabbage/carrots and had exactly 30 rolls using the same 2 heaping tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I grew in a Filipino neighborhood and have always been such a huge fan of their lumpia.. never made them til now. I found it a lot easier than I thought it would be. Not to mention, TASTY!!!! Now the only issues I had are the size of the wrappers... I will cut them diagonally in half next time and also use egg yolk to make the wrapper stick shut. But the recipe itself was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States