Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very delicious. I won't make these often as I found them involved. But my guests loved them and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
My family LOVED these!! I used a bag of slaw mix and added the green onion and a few more carrots. I also used egg roll wrappers instead because I couldn't find the other wrappers! My boyfriend took these to work and all the guys raved about them!! I've had to make them several more times for them but they're so easy and delicious I don't mind one bit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEVINSMOM27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Oh my gosh! This is so delicious and addictive. You just want to keep eating it even when you're full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I make this all the time and spotted a few mistakes. Traditional Lumpia is made from ground beef but you can use pretty much any type of meat from chicken, pork, beef, etc. Favorites are leftover pot roast. Must do's: grate, not dice the carrots. Forget the green onions, they cook out too soon, use regular white onion. AND! Be extra choosey with the brand of wrapper. I use Spring roll wrappers from the Asian market. Wonton wrappers are too thick, commercial egg roll wrappers are also VERY thick and do not flake. Only the Asian made "Spring Roll" wrappers will produce a golden colored flakey and light Lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I grew up eating either meat lumpia or veggie lumpia, but never combined. Kinda weird to me. I haven't even been to a restaurant that makes it like this. Also, they're not "egg rolls," as they're made with rice wrappers. If anything, they would be a Filipino version of a spring roll. But ask any Filipino, they're called lumpia! I'm sure this recipe is tasty but it's not what I'm used to, personally. Just some background info: my mom is from Manilla and dad is from Sto. Tomas. I'm from San Francisco. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
great recipe almost exactly like I remember eating as a child although I did add raisons because they were in the ones I remembered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe was ok. I worked with a Filipino lady that used to always make these and I loved them. I never thought about asking her how to make them until I moved 3000 miles away. There were a few things that I realized after making and eating these that I know I'll change in the future. The first being not to use soy sauce AND salt. To me, they were too salty. And after having them and comparing them to hers, Im pretty sure she didn't use soy sauce. Nor did another recipe that another Filipino friend of mine made. I don't recall tasting soy sauce in his either. I know there are many versions of lumpia and they are very easy to change. They weren't bad, I still enjoyed them. I inhaled 6 in no time with a vinegar garlic dipping sauce. I read through several recipes and noticed some require precooking the meat while others use a raw mixture. I think the next time I will try a raw mixture instead, as these just fell apart and crumbled while trying to eat them, even being rolled tight. Dipping was difficult without loosing my meat. All in all, this was a great starting point and looks like it contained most of the stuff I was used to in a lumpia. Also, mine made 21. I noticed after the first few I was over stuffing, so cut back. Then when I got to about 15, I cut back more. 1 1/2 Tbs. will probably yield 30. Now I know what my next attempt should be. Thanks for the great start! Revised: After sitting overnight, the flavors are more blended and mellowed. Tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
ONE OF THE BEST TASTING FOODS IVE HAD IN AWHILE THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVED THEM EVEN MY THREE PICKY KIDS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great basic recipe. I would suggest adding spices to get the taste where you really want. Also try rolling out the wrappers so they are super thin, and then cut in half along the length of the wrap. The lumpia will be long and thin; cut in half before frying. Provides a thinner and crispier roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
The only reason this recipe didn't get 5 stars is because the quantity is off for doing 30 wrappers if you use 3 heaping tablespoons. I was a little heavy with the veggies and still was only able to make about 15 using level scoops. If you use about 1 & 1/2 tablespoon you would get the 30. I'm glad I tried this at home before planning a party otherwise I would have been short. That being said, the flavor is wonderful. I could eat it by itself or even over rice. I'm serving these with traditional pancit tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States