Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used packaged coleslaw mix and it did not add the vegetable crunch I like. Next time sliced cabbage and much more than 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've had lumpia many times over the years and this recipe rates right up there with the best. I want to point out that it makes 30, as indicated, but you have to use 3 teaspoons of filling, not tablespoons. If you use tablespoons, you'll end up with about 10 lumpia the size of an eggroll. One of the notable differences about lumpia is that it's tightly rolled, small in diameter, and doesn't have a lot of filling in it. See my blog for additional pictures showing how I rolled the lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My family loves this dish, but I cook them in olive oil & it brings out the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
taste just like mom used to make :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fugginmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were excellent! I made these into egg rolls instead of lumpia. I didnt have pork so I used turkey. I wanted them to be a little sweet so I added in a couple tablespoons of brown sugar and a little more soy sauce to make them a little juicy. This filling was great for egg rolls! After dropping them in the fryer and making them nice and crispy, they were the perfect egg rolls! I will make them again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I tried this recipe as written & wasn't enough veggies for me. Second time I made them I added 1/2 cup each of finely chopped mushrooms, bamboo shoots & bean sprouts. It turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great Recipe. The only thing I do different is put all the ingrediants into a food processor and just chop for a few seconds. (We cant get Lumpia wrappers.:( all we have is wonton wrappers available to us and since wontons are small its easier to roll with a finer and uniform chop on the ingredients) thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
great recipe , i added shrimp for a little extra flavor turned out great i couldn't cook them fast enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are the best lumpia I have ever tasted. The first time I made them I made the mistake of using egg roll wrappers (I didn't know there was a difference.) Got lumpia wrappers from the local Asian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very Good! Every one enjoyed. Will make again. We used a sweet chili sauce to dip them in and it made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States