Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
didn't enjoy the flavor of this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I like this recipe. I tried using ground beef instead of pork. It may have tasted better if I would have used pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinjae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My friend's parents are from the Philippines and I've tried lumpia several times at her parent's home. This recipe is almost the same to her mothers. I added 1 tsp. of oyster sauce and 1/4 cup of raisins to give it some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This lumpia is really delicious and really easy to make. The only variations I did was I used a lot more cabbage than what the recipe called for and I used ground sausage because it has more flavors. I only scooped one to one and a half spoon of the filling instead of three because lumpias are supposed to be skinny when they are rolled up. When I did this the first time, I was only able to make about 15 lumpias. You can squeeze about 25 to 30 lumpias if you are consistent with your scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow, these were amazing! I followed the recipe exact, except I could not not find lumpia skins. I ended up using spring roll skins and they came out great anyway. To use the spring roll skins, just put water on a dinner plate and place the skin in the water for a couple of seconds on each side, or until it's soft enough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used packaged coleslaw mix and it did not add the vegetable crunch I like. Next time sliced cabbage and much more than 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've had lumpia many times over the years and this recipe rates right up there with the best. I want to point out that it makes 30, as indicated, but you have to use 3 teaspoons of filling, not tablespoons. If you use tablespoons, you'll end up with about 10 lumpia the size of an eggroll. One of the notable differences about lumpia is that it's tightly rolled, small in diameter, and doesn't have a lot of filling in it. See my blog for additional pictures showing how I rolled the lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My family loves this dish, but I cook them in olive oil & it brings out the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
taste just like mom used to make :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fugginmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were excellent! I made these into egg rolls instead of lumpia. I didnt have pork so I used turkey. I wanted them to be a little sweet so I added in a couple tablespoons of brown sugar and a little more soy sauce to make them a little juicy. This filling was great for egg rolls! After dropping them in the fryer and making them nice and crispy, they were the perfect egg rolls! I will make them again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States