Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
The filling is good although I upped the cabbage and carrots and mixed in 2 tblsp Hoisen sauce. I used all green onions. I bought a frozen package of all purpose wrappers and they were a bear to peel apart after completely thawing out. I accidentally wrapped a few in double wrapping (not good) because I wasn't aware how thin the wrappers are. 5 of them got torn while attempting to separate them correctly. Anyway, once I figured it out, I rolled them up and froze them. The 5 I fried fresh wanted to split and filling spewed out the ends. The frozen ones fry up nicely as long as you have oil at 350. This adventure takes some practice and patience is all I can say but in the end, the pre-frozen ones fried up great without falling apart. Prepare for some time wrapping these up and don't overfill Mine were about 1/2" diameter "logs". Couldn't get them any smaller w/out it being all wrapper versus filling. Mine actually looked the the photo posted. When I want to take the time, will make again! After considering the 5 destroyed wrappers + 5 lumpia I had to throw out, This will make 30 Lumpia using 1 tblsp of filling each. Very tasty treat! UPDATE: I'm so happy to have these lumpias, frozen and ready to deep fry for 5 minutes. SO YUMMY. I will def make again to have on hand. Just ate 4 of these and still want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
OMG! These are so delicious!!!, My mom use to make this when I was a kid and as it was cooking it smelt just like hers. The only thing I changed was the meat I used morningstar veggie crumblers. I made homemade sweet and sour sauce which was 1 tbsp corn starch mixed with enough water to make it slightly runny (set a side) then in a pot mixed 1/4c light brown sugar, 1/4c apple cider vinegar & 1/4 c water stirred the mixure in the pot and brought it to a boil and then added the corn starch mixture stirring til it was well mixed and began to thicken. The sauce was enough for about 9 lumpia but if you need more you have to use equal parts for the the ingredients like 1/2 c vinegar, 1/2 c water, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 2 tbsp corn starch. Oh yeah I also added a little ketchup to give it a redish color. Anywho my husband thought it was the Indian chutney from the store. And he gave me a thumbs up on the lumpia so I will consider it as a meal on our list. YEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavorablesoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
If you have not tried Lumpia, I seriously suggest you take the time to try this recipe! My MIL makes these and I recently tried my hand in making them. The only change i made was using ground beef for preference over the ground pork. These are AMAZING! They are great with the lumpia wrappers but I find they are delicious with the regular eggroll wrappers as well. This is one of those dishes you can make in bulk then freeze what you don't fry. Heat up oil at 350 and fry them straight from the freezer for about 5 min and they are just as good as they are made fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were awesome! I did a great job for it being my first time too! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The sweet chili dipping sauce is simply awesome. A good substitute is sold in Wal-Mart, but the one from the Asian Markets are MUCH better. We make lumpia all of the time (married into a Filipino family) so we don't write down what we do. I needed to find something close for a friend, and this was pretty much it. We also use the beef/pork combo. I am going to have to try the adobo seasoning the next time just to see. :) The secret to sealing the edges is brusing egg whites along the edge. By brush, I mean dip your fingers in the egg white and rub it along the edge. If you think you would like it added to the lumpia, add it! Be careful cooking from frozen. Keep the oil temp at medium to medium-low to prevent the oil from reacting violently and caushing a fire. (Yes, I have done it! But anyone who fries stuff knows to keep a LARGE lid or cookie sheet to slide over a grease fire. Turn off the heat, wait a minute, remove the lid, and pick up where you stopped. When you turn the heat on again, keep it LOW!) Thanks for saving me the trouble of trying to measure what we use while making these treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
didn't enjoy the flavor of this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I like this recipe. I tried using ground beef instead of pork. It may have tasted better if I would have used pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinjae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My friend's parents are from the Philippines and I've tried lumpia several times at her parent's home. This recipe is almost the same to her mothers. I added 1 tsp. of oyster sauce and 1/4 cup of raisins to give it some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This lumpia is really delicious and really easy to make. The only variations I did was I used a lot more cabbage than what the recipe called for and I used ground sausage because it has more flavors. I only scooped one to one and a half spoon of the filling instead of three because lumpias are supposed to be skinny when they are rolled up. When I did this the first time, I was only able to make about 15 lumpias. You can squeeze about 25 to 30 lumpias if you are consistent with your scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow, these were amazing! I followed the recipe exact, except I could not not find lumpia skins. I ended up using spring roll skins and they came out great anyway. To use the spring roll skins, just put water on a dinner plate and place the skin in the water for a couple of seconds on each side, or until it's soft enough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States