Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
As a kid I remember visiting Philipino friends who fed these to us all the time! I love egg rolls but really was trying to find a recipe for these babies...I have made these and find that they are not all that hard (especially with a mini chopper) and turn out amazing! They fly out of my home when I make them and have given out the recipe a million times! I have read about people using the coleslaw mix instead and next time I'm trying that because I never use up all the carrots or the cabbage and end up making 2 batches! I also use the "mini egg roll" wrappers and next time I'm also going to try baking them to cut down on the "fry fat"...425 for 10 min...turn and another 10 min...should be nice and crispy without the "fry fat!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
For those who can't find lumpia wrappers, you can make your own. it's just equal parts of rice flour and water. use a nylon pastry brush to 'paint' the batter on a large skillet and take the pan out of the fire once it's dry. just flip the cooked wrapper on top of some parchment paper and put on your filling. Whenever I cook lumpia, I prefer to use fresh wrappers because I can adjust how thick or thin I want the wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa City, Laguna, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My husband is in the military and when we were stationed in Virginia, a friend of ours made these! They were yummy and so are these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I used cole slaw mix as a short cut,and added cellephane noodles & baby shrimp. It was definitely a crowd pleaser...and its easy to add your own touch without ruining the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These were really good, but I add some frozen peas and some bean sprouts as well, like my Filipino neighbors advised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Easy, fun and very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I grew up eating the authentic Lumpia that a family friend made using her grandmother's recipe strait from the Philippines. I had not had them in years and was craving them. I used this recipe and it was exactly the taste I remembered. So delicious. I like this filling so much, that I sometimes stir in prepared rice and make fried rice instead of the lumpia rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I haven't tried this yet, but want to. Where do I find lumpia wrappers? I live in Northern MN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! My family loved it and there were no leftovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This lumpia was great- very easy to make with an authentic taste. My boyfriend is Filipino and he said that it was the best lumpia he's ever had not made by his mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States