Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I haven't tried this yet, but want to. Where do I find lumpia wrappers? I live in Northern MN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! My family loved it and there were no leftovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This lumpia was great- very easy to make with an authentic taste. My boyfriend is Filipino and he said that it was the best lumpia he's ever had not made by his mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I used this recipe as a base, but used ground chicken instead. They turned out delicious! I used sweet chili sauce to dip them in! They were eaten right up!! I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I added some oyster sauce for a bit more flavor... everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These were great. Couldn't find lumpia wrappers, so I used wonton skins and they were still delicious - can't imagine if I'd had the right stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Wow! I made this recipe for a group of hungry guys and they all raved about them. I made mine in spring roll wrappers, and a bit bigger than traditional lumpia. I've since made this recipe again and used to fill egg rolls. I must say that the filling has a bit too much pork for traditional egg rolls, which generally have more veggie than meat. I'm going to try again, but cut the pork down to 1/4 and double or even triple the veggies. This is a fantastic recipe that will show you just how easy it is to make roll filling and give you a great starting point for your favorite ingredients. I intend to try this with diced shrimp, veggies and celephane noodles. Mmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
The filling is good although I upped the cabbage and carrots and mixed in 2 tblsp Hoisen sauce. I used all green onions. I bought a frozen package of all purpose wrappers and they were a bear to peel apart after completely thawing out. I accidentally wrapped a few in double wrapping (not good) because I wasn't aware how thin the wrappers are. 5 of them got torn while attempting to separate them correctly. Anyway, once I figured it out, I rolled them up and froze them. The 5 I fried fresh wanted to split and filling spewed out the ends. The frozen ones fry up nicely as long as you have oil at 350. This adventure takes some practice and patience is all I can say but in the end, the pre-frozen ones fried up great without falling apart. Prepare for some time wrapping these up and don't overfill Mine were about 1/2" diameter "logs". Couldn't get them any smaller w/out it being all wrapper versus filling. Mine actually looked the the photo posted. When I want to take the time, will make again! After considering the 5 destroyed wrappers + 5 lumpia I had to throw out, This will make 30 Lumpia using 1 tblsp of filling each. Very tasty treat! UPDATE: I'm so happy to have these lumpias, frozen and ready to deep fry for 5 minutes. SO YUMMY. I will def make again to have on hand. Just ate 4 of these and still want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
OMG! These are so delicious!!!, My mom use to make this when I was a kid and as it was cooking it smelt just like hers. The only thing I changed was the meat I used morningstar veggie crumblers. I made homemade sweet and sour sauce which was 1 tbsp corn starch mixed with enough water to make it slightly runny (set a side) then in a pot mixed 1/4c light brown sugar, 1/4c apple cider vinegar & 1/4 c water stirred the mixure in the pot and brought it to a boil and then added the corn starch mixture stirring til it was well mixed and began to thicken. The sauce was enough for about 9 lumpia but if you need more you have to use equal parts for the the ingredients like 1/2 c vinegar, 1/2 c water, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 2 tbsp corn starch. Oh yeah I also added a little ketchup to give it a redish color. Anywho my husband thought it was the Indian chutney from the store. And he gave me a thumbs up on the lumpia so I will consider it as a meal on our list. YEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavorablesoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
If you have not tried Lumpia, I seriously suggest you take the time to try this recipe! My MIL makes these and I recently tried my hand in making them. The only change i made was using ground beef for preference over the ground pork. These are AMAZING! They are great with the lumpia wrappers but I find they are delicious with the regular eggroll wrappers as well. This is one of those dishes you can make in bulk then freeze what you don't fry. Heat up oil at 350 and fry them straight from the freezer for about 5 min and they are just as good as they are made fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States