Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is great. I made exactly as recipe states and it is a big hit with my family. I'm going to be making this for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These lumpias have become a family tradition during the holidays. The only change I made was to used WonTon wrappers, it is much easier to use than the spring roll wrappers. Spoon a tsp of mixture into the center, then roll into a smaller version of the spring roll. The result is a 2 bite appetizer or side dish that everyone really loves. The trick is to get the oil hot, then each lumpia only takes about 30 seconds on each side to cook. I usually have to buy 2 package of 50 ct WonTon Wrappers to use up all the filling, makes about 75 lumpias. I used La Choy Sweet and Sour sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Best Lumpia I have EVER had!! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen_flip0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe!! My friend makes lumpia's but never finished giving me the recipe. This one tastes exactly like hers. I made2 adjustments- I mixed jimmy dean sausage roll with ground beef- YUM!! and I seasoned with a little adobo along with seasoning mentioned. They came out delicious!!! Was able to freeze 15 and we ate up 15 between the 3 of us...:-) Served with Sweet chilli sauce! (the lumpia papers are a headache to work with but sooo worth the effort.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These are perfect!!! I doubled the recipe using 1/2 beef & 1/2 pork. Put in 2 extra garlic cloves (can't help myself) and had to use eggroll wrappers cause I live in a small town w/no asian food market. They were still fantastic. Doubling the recipe and using about 2T in each one, yielded about 40-45. I probably could have put slightly less filling in them and made 50 but this was fine for my group. I used Frank's Red Hot Sweet Chili Sauce for dipping. YUMMY ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I did adjust a thing or two, to my personal preference, not to fix a problem, just because I liked it a certain way. I'm vegan so I used tofu "mock pork" and wrappers that I knew were vegan friendly. I also substituted bok choy for the green cabbage, green onions for the regular onion, and I shredded the carrots. Other than that, MARVELOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I did take the advice from one of the reviewers and left out the salt and used low sodium soy sauce. This was a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Simply the best, most authentic recipe I have found. The only thing I changed was using half ground beef and half ground pork together plus using a bag of cole slaw mix in place of cutting up the carrots and cabbage. A huge time saver. Love, love, love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooks, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Amazing! Just like grandma's. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very traditional recipe that I was taught by a lovely Filipino lady when I lived on Guam years ago. She taught me to make the wrappers with cornstarch and water, swiping the mixture on a hot griddle with a sponge. An authentic dipping sauce for these is garlic infused vinegar...crush a clove in a dish of vinegar, let sit for a few hours. Yes, smelly, acidic, but wonderful!! Also can dip in chili sauce or Chinese style mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States