Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Gadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We really enjoyed this lumpia recipe. I didn't make any changes. I will probably double next time and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These were excellent! The filling was so fragrant while cooking. This was my first time using lumpia wrappers- they were a little difficult to work with but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This recipe was awesome and yielded restaurant quality crispy lumpia. I thought the recipe for the filling was 100% perfect. Since this was my first time ever dealing with lumpia wrappers, I experienced some technical challenges. Lumpia wrappers are highly delicate (just like filo dough.) You must keep them covered with a damp cloth during use or they will dry out. Separate into sheets very carefully to prevent tearing. Since it was my first time, I ripped a few during the wrapping process. The only thing I added was egg wash to seal my wrapper. I used the round wrappers as well which have a different wrapping procedure from the square ones. As soon as they hit the oil, they form the crisp shell very quickly. This was such a good recipe and my family really enjoyed it. It will be added to the list of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Ive made this recipe since 1989, ive sorta made it my own i use chopped green pepper,soy sauce teryaki sauce,onion and garlic powder carrotts salt and i make it with ground beef instead of pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My Filipino (Bicol) father is a FANTASTIC cook so therefore I "allow" him to do all the Filipino cooking. I wanted to make lumpia myself and couldn't remember all the ingredients so I used this with my dad's alterations. This is very similar to his recipe except: he cuts the carrots into very small matchsticks, does not use green onion, salt or soy sauce and adds finely minced water chestnuts and a little grated ginger. My sister adds a little oyster sauce to the mix. I think there is too much filing per lumpia in this recipe. I would use only 1 tablespoon. We make them much thinner than egg/spring rolls. We always dip in a blend of soy sauce, lemon juice and finely chopped green onion. My aunt taught me how to make my own wrappers when I was very young but I find it quicker and easier to buy spring roll wrappers. I buy small wrappers (3" x 3") 50 to a pack for less than $2.00. I think there as many variations of lumpia as there are people who make them. Use this as a basic recipe and change to your family's tastes or traditions - but make them with your family because making, rolling and frying lumpia is a great bonding experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My step-mother was from Manila and settled in San Francisco after WWII. She made hundreds of lumpia at a time and kept them in the freezer. Her recipe was quite involved. Ground beef, pork sausage, baby shrimp, bok choy, green cabbage, shredded green beans and carrots, ginger, chestnuts,garlic onion and green onion, fish sauce, soy sauce. I've taken up the tradition of spending 1 or 2 days a year making hundreds for the freezer and cook them up for company, parties, and sending some home with visitors just like my step-mother did. I'm teaching my daughter and granddaughters and a few interested friends how to make lumpia. Great opportunity to sit and roll and chat and laugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was really good! I'm made it as is and then several times with variations. You don't need the oil to cook the pork as it'll cook in its own fat. I doubled the crushed garlic and upped the veggies to 3/4 cup green onions, 3/4 cup regular onions, 3/4 cup carrots, and 2 cups cabbage. I also added 1/2 lb shrimp because we love shrimp! The wrappers should be cut into quarters because lumpias are really small, with 1 TB filling per wrapper. I was hesitant to try baking these as per others' suggestions but I'm sooo glad I tried it! I sprayed them with cooking spray and baked in the oven at 425 for 18 min, flipping once throughout. This made about 70 lumpias. We definitely don't feel so bad eating so many of them if they're baked :) Sometimes I also throw in 2 tsps of fish sauce into the mix. Since my husband is Vietnamese, we eat them Vietnamese-style, wrapping each lumpia in a lettuce leaf and dipping it in fish sauce when eating. Yum! So glad these freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Awesome!!!! Made some just with veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
One of my favs-everyone loves these! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States