Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Very easy and delicious!! Note: DO NOT try to substitute the Lumpia wrappers with (dry) spring roll wrappers! They do not hold up to the density and turn into a gelatinous mess! My second attempt came out beautiful with the right wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I love this recipe, but I added some Chinese five spice and crushed red pepper flakes to give it a bit more oomph. I also used a 340 gram bag of broccoli slaw instead of the carrots and cabbage, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Western

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Okay, I only made the pork and vegetables, skipped the wrappers and frying because I'm trying to lose some lbs. But, it was still great. The only thing I did differently was substitute sesame oil for vegetable oil and added fresh ginger. I can imagine this would be amazing wrapped up and fried, yum. I WILL try that some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I make lumpias all the time and this is my go to recipe. I would be making them everyday if all the prepping and chopping wasn't so tedious. I typically use ground chicken rather than pork for personal preference and it tastes awesome. sometimes I make them vegetarian by swapping out meat and replace with diced firm tofu and re-hydrated shitake mushrooms. It is crucial to buy lumpia wrappers from Asian markets since most American brands are much thicker and pricier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YennieMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I would double the garlic and cabbage next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Gadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We really enjoyed this lumpia recipe. I didn't make any changes. I will probably double next time and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These were excellent! The filling was so fragrant while cooking. This was my first time using lumpia wrappers- they were a little difficult to work with but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This recipe was awesome and yielded restaurant quality crispy lumpia. I thought the recipe for the filling was 100% perfect. Since this was my first time ever dealing with lumpia wrappers, I experienced some technical challenges. Lumpia wrappers are highly delicate (just like filo dough.) You must keep them covered with a damp cloth during use or they will dry out. Separate into sheets very carefully to prevent tearing. Since it was my first time, I ripped a few during the wrapping process. The only thing I added was egg wash to seal my wrapper. I used the round wrappers as well which have a different wrapping procedure from the square ones. As soon as they hit the oil, they form the crisp shell very quickly. This was such a good recipe and my family really enjoyed it. It will be added to the list of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States