Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was really good! I'm made it as is and then several times with variations. You don't need the oil to cook the pork as it'll cook in its own fat. I doubled the crushed garlic and upped the veggies to 3/4 cup green onions, 3/4 cup regular onions, 3/4 cup carrots, and 2 cups cabbage. I also added 1/2 lb shrimp because we love shrimp! The wrappers should be cut into quarters because lumpias are really small, with 1 TB filling per wrapper. I was hesitant to try baking these as per others' suggestions but I'm sooo glad I tried it! I sprayed them with cooking spray and baked in the oven at 425 for 18 min, flipping once throughout. This made about 70 lumpias. We definitely don't feel so bad eating so many of them if they're baked :) Sometimes I also throw in 2 tsps of fish sauce into the mix. Since my husband is Vietnamese, we eat them Vietnamese-style, wrapping each lumpia in a lettuce leaf and dipping it in fish sauce when eating. Yum! So glad these freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Awesome!!!! Made some just with veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
One of my favs-everyone loves these! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
For special occasions, my mom would roll cheese in the middle of the meat (just like how you roll maki, I guess. the rice is the meat mixture and the carrots, crab stick and everything else is the cheese) make sure not to mix the cheese with the meat before rolling them up because when the cheese melts, it will go out through the seams and would ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I looked forever for a recipe that matched my friend's mother's recipe. I finally found it. I do a few things a little differently with regards to prep though. After cooking the onions and port and draining the fat, I add the seasonings and then put the meat and onion mixture in a food processor and pulse it a few times to get it all into a uniform size (about the size of raw cane sugar). I also pulse the carrots until they are about the same size of the meat mixture. It lends itself to a consistent flavor and texture throughout the entire roll. Everyone who has had them has commented that the flavor is wonderful, but the texture is what sends them over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very delicious. I won't make these often as I found them involved. But my guests loved them and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
My family LOVED these!! I used a bag of slaw mix and added the green onion and a few more carrots. I also used egg roll wrappers instead because I couldn't find the other wrappers! My boyfriend took these to work and all the guys raved about them!! I've had to make them several more times for them but they're so easy and delicious I don't mind one bit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEVINSMOM27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Oh my gosh! This is so delicious and addictive. You just want to keep eating it even when you're full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I make this all the time and spotted a few mistakes. Traditional Lumpia is made from ground beef but you can use pretty much any type of meat from chicken, pork, beef, etc. Favorites are leftover pot roast. Must do's: grate, not dice the carrots. Forget the green onions, they cook out too soon, use regular white onion. AND! Be extra choosey with the brand of wrapper. I use Spring roll wrappers from the Asian market. Wonton wrappers are too thick, commercial egg roll wrappers are also VERY thick and do not flake. Only the Asian made "Spring Roll" wrappers will produce a golden colored flakey and light Lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I grew up eating either meat lumpia or veggie lumpia, but never combined. Kinda weird to me. I haven't even been to a restaurant that makes it like this. Also, they're not "egg rolls," as they're made with rice wrappers. If anything, they would be a Filipino version of a spring roll. But ask any Filipino, they're called lumpia! I'm sure this recipe is tasty but it's not what I'm used to, personally. Just some background info: my mom is from Manilla and dad is from Sto. Tomas. I'm from San Francisco. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States