Filet with a Merlot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
We enjoyed this sauce for our filets. We had lots of juice, so we each had our own little bowl of sauce that we put our cut-up meat into. That REALLY made it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Didn't really care for this one. I found the sauce overpowered the meat and detracted from its 'natural' taste. I also added some fresh mushrooms while cooking which added a little diversity. I probably won't make this again, and would rather just drink a good Merlot with the filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Yummy sauce! It was a little salty but that's what I liked about it. Who wants a flavourless sauce? I made only 3 filet mignon so I made less sauce. I used 1 chicken and 1 beef oxo cube and let the cubes dissolve in 2 cups of boiling water. Then I added 1/2 cup of wine and let the mixture boil for almost 30 minutes on high heat. The only thing I didn't like is that I usually marinate my steak so that the flavor goes through to the center and the meat becomes more tender. These were ok but I had to dip them in a lot of gravy and they weren't as tender as the steaks I usually have. Also the recipe directions will give you a rare steak so if you don't like it rare, cook a couple of minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. I made it for Valentine's Day and look forward to making it for friends. I don't eat mushrooms, but divided the sauce and added sauteed mushrooms for my husband -he raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Too salty. Too expensive. Too time-consuming. Tasted like brown gravy with a little wine flavor. It wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't waste the time or money making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This has to be one of the most delicious Merlot recipes I have ever made. My whole family loved it. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Terrible - way to salty. Ruined the whole thing. The broth is to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I was most anxious to try this recipe considering we love red wine and filets. And considering the top billing it received in the newsletter today from Allrecipes, I couldn't wait for that first bite. Major disappointment. Maybe it will be better tomorrow but for all the time, preparation and cost, I am betting that I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I loved this recipe! My boyfriend and I have now made it about 3 times in 2 months and still enjoy it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
My husband and I made this for Christmas Eve and it was so incredibly wonderful. Thank you for making a special evening even more special. Every last morsel of mignon was gone! We are making it again for family this weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States