Filet with a Merlot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I've used it several times and gotten very good feedback from my guests. You have to use good wine whenever you cook. NEVER use something that you wouldn't drink from a glass. It concentrates the flavor when you let a wine cook down. Thank you so much for the recipe... I'll be sure to pass it on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I hate to give a recipe a bad review but I was disappointed with this sauce. It was salty and bitter. It almost tasted burned. I added some sugar and extra butter. I don't know if I did something wrong but I won't bother to try again. Beef tenderloin with roasted shallot sauce (from this site) is much, much better. Thanks anyway Melody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Good, quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
AMAZING!! I made this for my boss and her husband, They raved!! Two weeks later and they are still talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I was so excited to try this recipe. After searching the web I came across this one with so many rave reviews. Sorry to say I was disappointed. It had too much of a vinegar taste. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
500 stars!! The merlot sauce was gorgeous and easy because I prepared it the day before. I put in Pfefferlinger (named sometimes Chantrelle or Girolle) mushrooms for an extra special elegant touch. Such dramatic color! Wow your guests with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Served this at a dinner party and was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS LOVELY. I WOULD DEFINITELY MAKE IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
this was so great! we had eaten filet mignon with merlot reduction sauce in a restaurant and i never could duplicate it. this was so close! a bit expensive overall, but worth it for holidays and special occassions, thanks melody
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
We enjoyed this sauce for our filets. We had lots of juice, so we each had our own little bowl of sauce that we put our cut-up meat into. That REALLY made it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States