Filet with a Merlot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is such an awesome sauce, absolutely delicious and very easy to make! You don't have to pan-fry your filets in order to have a great tasting sauce, you can grill them and top them with the sauce before serving. I've done it both ways and haven't noticed much of a difference in taste. Even my 12 year old loves the sauce! I'm making the sauce again tomorrow for the 4th time and I can't wait for my dinner guests to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My husband & I both agree that while the sauce was good, it was very salty. I don't think it was worth the effort...Next time we'll just drink the bottle of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Made the sauce as stated but cut in half. We grilled filet mignon's on the grill and topped with the sauce. Made it about a month ago and just got around to reviewing it as i'm making it again tonight and needed to come look up the recipe and much to my bewilderment realized i never did the first time! My husband and I have been craving it again ever since and this will be a staple around here and most surely will use for entertaining! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great! I left out the olive oil, but kept everything spot-on! Doesn't take a long time to reduce this, keep an eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellent. The sauce made the dish. I put it with the roasted vegetables recipe. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Roasted-Vegetables-501/Detail.aspx I thought I was in a fancy restaurant. Spectacular together!!!! Definitely making it again. Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made a few tiny changes to tweak- I love garlic so I almost doubled the amount, used more thyme, and added a few chili pepper flakes in the sauce. Also doubled the butter which made the sauce more creamy. All in all it was a great recipe and can certainly be used to make cheaper cuts of meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is absolute divine. The main key to having this turn out great is using an excellent red wine that you want to drink. If you don't want to drink it out of the bottle, you won't love the sauce. Take the time to find a good wine, splurge a little if you have to. I add sliced mushrooms to the pan sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
The Merlot sauce alone is worth five-stars! I've also made a Cabernet Sauce the same way and it turned out wonderful as well. This is a keeper. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was excellent for our once a month fancy dinners we like to have! The sauce was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was very good. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States