Filet Mignons With Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
While I LOVE "meat and taters" my health aware wife limits herself to red meat. However, when I had prepared this tasty number she went all in! GREAT recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I added a little fresh garlic to the sauce for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lewis Deviney
Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I made this recipe today for our anniversary dinner. I was so disappointed. Made exactly as written and it was bland and boring. I will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcel
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Great recipe. Served for Father's Day and as good as any restaurant. I cooked my 1" sirloin steaks for 2 min on med-high each side for a perfect med rare to medium. I've tried it on the BBQ but it doesn't cook them hot enough and wastes the meat, the stove is a much better restaurant style result. I used some fresh ground pepper and some Keg Steak seasoning. For the sauce, I used 1/2 cup beef bouillon, 1/2 cup wine, 1/2 cup 10% cream and a teaspoon of cornstarch and cooked on low for 5 min. Perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This was very very good! The only reason I gave it four stars was because I thought the sauce was a little bland. After making it and tasting it, I add some pepper and some Dijon mustard as another reviewer suggested. I haven't cooked steaks myself because my husband and sons always cook them on the grill. My husband was very impressed! Served it with Roasted Green Beans fro. This site and a roasted purple onion flower! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Perfect cooking method and sauce very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wheelchair Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Superb simple recipe. Change nothing. Make without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I make almost the exact same recipe and I really love it. The small exception is adding 8 extra large shrimp (4 per person) My Mom taught me how to check if Filet Mignon is Medium Rare without a thermometer or even worse, cutting into the steak. Make a fist (not too tight - if you are digging your fingernails into your palm that is too tight) and push on the top of the fat pad (between your thumb and finger) if the fat pad area gives about 1/4" it's Medium Rare. For Medium Well, Turn your fist over and press on the fat pad at the base of your thumb. These tricks work every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This is a great recipe. But for some extra flavor and a little bit of kick, cut down on the peppercorns and start the sauce with chopped sautéed cherry peppers or jalapeños. That's how it was prepared at a restaurant we went to in Costa Rica and it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henniker, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Craise
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
brills
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Craise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States