Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is my 1st rating ever this low , unfortunately this recipe as written managed to ruin 2 nice fillets, had a very distinct vinegar flavor. To each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ivywang
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made the filet mignon and glaze separately as recommended and the filet came out great. Left my filets rest for about 90 min and it kept it so tender. Salted and peppered to taste. Seared top, bottom, and sides to keep the juice in. For medium, cooked the top and bottom for 4 min each. For medium rare, 2-3 min. Made the glaze separately using all ingredients, and added garlic. Reduced for about 15 min, but it was still very thin... The sauce was good but not amazing. The filet was great on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Love the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drspanklebum
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe!! Made with some additions from helpful comments and some personal preferences. Here's what I did: Ingredients added - - 3 red potatoes, cubed - Several asparagus - 1 cup or 1 half onion, chopped - 1 cup sliced mushroom - 1 clove garlic, chopped - 1/2 cup balsamic INSTEAD of 1/4. - 2 (8 oz.) beef tenderloin - 12 in cast iron skillet if available (if not, go get one. You deserve it!) Prep: - Heat oven to 400 - Set out steaks for 20-30 minutes, season both sides w/salt and pepper 1. Fire up the cast iron skillet, add 1 tbsp each of butter and oil. Sauté onion, mushroom, and garlic. Transfer to a bowl and set aside when onion is translucent. 2. Toss on another tbsp of butter, and throw on the steaks to sear 2.5 mins, FLIP, then 2.5 mins on the other side, FLIP, throw in the potatoes and asparagus, and finally toss it in the oven. Now set the timer for 7 minutes and get to work on that saus. Hopefully by this point things are looking like the attached photo. 3. In a small saucepan, get your 1/2 cup balsamic and 1/4 cup wine good'n hot, and toss in the onion/shroom/garlic from before. Keep stirring and reduce. 4. BEEP! Open your oven, flip the steaks, stir & season the potatoes with some salt and pepper, and set the timer for another 7 minutes. Now you can chill out for a minute and enjoy some of that wine you just opened. Keep stirring saus. 5. BEEP! Set aside steaks for a few minutes, and start plating! Simply amazing results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
MUST TRY! I didn't follow the original recipe, but added garlic and brown sugar per other reviews and OMG this was amazing! I also browned the steaks in the pan first and finished in the oven (like I always do) and reduced the sauce seperately (also doubled the sauce). Very sexy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was the best filet mignon I have ever had and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just enjoyed this for Valentine's Day dinner. I did place the meat in a zip-lock bag with olive oil, pepper & garlic for hours before cooking other wise followed the receipe. We liked it very much! This time of year, using the grill is difficult and with only two of us - using the stove top was qucik, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I followed suggestions already posted - 1/2 cup quality balsamic (I used pomegranate balsamic, it was delicious), 1/4 cup dry sherry, heaping tablespoon brown sugar, and 1 minced garlic clove. I cooked the sauce separately until it was syrupy. Let the filets rest at room temp for 45 mins or so (30-60 mins is good), then seasoned with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper on both sides. Cooked on med/high heat for 1 min on each side, then about 4 mins with the saute pan covered (for medium rare). Added about a tbsp of crumbled blue cheese and broiled for a minute or so. Then, drizzled the sauce on it. Had asparagus and mashed potatoes with it. Absolutely phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love, love, love this glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States