Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Very good... Made it for Valentine's Day and the wife loved it. I spent a little more for higher quality meat and vinegar and it paid off. Thanks for the great meal, will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Kyriazis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made it for Valentine's day for my wife and we loved it. We made the sauce separately like some others did. We doubled the balsamic and added brown sugar and garlic. The steaks I cooked on a pan. I seared them for 1 minute each side, then turned down the heat to finish cooking. It took longer than 5 minutes per side to finish. Near the end I did drizzle some sauce on them and finished cooking them. We both loved the sauce even though we weren't too sure about it beforehand. I paired it with one of our favorite sides, roasted red potatoes cooked with cajun seasoning and bell peppers and onions. I usually make them spicier, but this time I put some brown sugar on them as well and drizzled some red wine and balsamic over them. They were still great and went much nicer with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Absolutely love this. add the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Excellent base, however I added a tsp of fresh garlic and a tsp of cane sugar. I grilled our steaks and simply put this glaze in a pan and reduced it while our steaks cooked. I completed the meal by drizziling the glaze on the steaks before serving. The glaze was incredible and paired well with the steak, grilled asparagus and crab legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My husband, the cattle ranchers son, called this the best steak he's ever had! I left the steaks at room temp for about 45 minutes after salt/pepper just to tenderize. Also, I had a couple of larger (6-7 oz) cuts so I needed to cook about 2 extra minutes on each side. I used a meat thermometer to about 155 degrees. We had a super easy Valentines dinner for two that looked and tasted like a meal at a top notch steakhouse. I want to try this recipe with some other (less expensive) cuts of meat when I have to feed the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this tonight for our Valentine dinner. My husband said it was the best steak he's ever had. I used a Merlot and Militello's Balsamic Vinegar and a tablespoon of crushed garlic. So tender and the glaze was nice and thick. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as-is, no alterations. It was delicious and made our Valentine Day dinner perfect! The meat was tender and the sauce gave sophistication without excessive work. Thank you for the video; it was very helpful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
2/14/14. This is a great and easy recipe! I used this recipe to make a suprise Valentines day dinner for my wife. I picked up the steaks at Trader Joes as well as the potatoes and asparagus (frozen). They all cooked to perfection! Very quick very delicious! It was a SMASH HIT! MY WIFE LOVED IT! THANKS LINDA. NEO LAS VEGAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The recipe is a keeper! We lived it. I followed others advice and did the balsamic mixture separate and served on the side. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
We made this recipe tonight to celebrate Valentine's Day and can say it exceeded our expectations. Truly delicious and we would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States