Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was amazing...I browned a minute on each side, then 2 minutes on each side until the steak reached 130 degrees.. I set aside for a few minutes before slicing, it was amazing and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We tripled this glaze recipe, added 2 table spoons of brown sugar and a little corn starch to thicken it..... and WOW is all I can say. We ended up serving it over some KC strip steaks, red garlic mashed potatoes, and bacon rapped green beans and WOW WOW WOW. One of my favorite meals I have ever made!!!! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is a delicious and very easy recipe for perfection. I made this for my husband for Valentine's Day and then this evening for my son's birthday dinner. Every one raved about it and asked how I cooked it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
The best steak I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the simplicity of ingredients in this dish yet the complex taste. We'll make it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Beautiful. I made a garlic and pepper butter to marinate them in instead of just the spices. I had no red wine so we used a white chardonnay, mixed with the balsamic and some olive oil. I only put a splash in the pan with the meat after searing each side, and saved the rest for dipping. My meat was just a sirloi tip, about half as thick, so I cooked it for only two minutes on each side after the one minute of searing each side. This was cooked perfectly medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this last night for Valentine's dinner- and it was FABULOUS. I did not have wine, but I used beef broth, and I doubled the glaze recipe. I let the steaks rest for an hour, and we used Montreal steak seasoning to season them. I am so impressed at how simple it was, but SO flavorful. Make sure you give the glaze enough time to thicken- it took at least 30 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I was a little nervous at first because I had never cooked a filet on the stovetop but it was the most amazing filet I have had in along time. I read all the reviews first and took some suggestions. I double the wine/balsamic mixture. I added garlic, brown sugar, and butter. Our cuts of meat were thicker so I had to cook them longer. The reduction was so good. I made it for Valentines Day and my boyfriend loved it too. I made with oven roasted red bliss potatos and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This glaze was so good, I think this just put the meal over the top. I did like others have suggested and cooked the Filet and the glaze seperately and then I threw it together. My husband loved this. He said that it was best he's had in a long time. This will be made again but only on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States