Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Our filets were very thick so we put them on the grill for a bit before we started the recipe. We added fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce and rather than pour on top, we put the sauce with the mushrooms into small individual ramekins for dipping. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Dahmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is so darn good. I made this for my hubby on Valentine's Day because I rarely cook red meat, so I did it for a treat and now I promise to make it for every special occasion. I doubled the recipe as previously suggested and I used Cabarnet Sauvignon for the dry red wine as suggested by the wine dude at my local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a really great, basic recipe however the key is to let the steaks sit, rest, and become room temp. before cooking. I cooked two 8 ounce steaks (4 ounces would have been way too small for dinner) on a cast iron skillet. One min. on each side first, then 4 four mins on each side for medium rare...it was perfect. I added brown sugar and butter to the sauce however the sauce was too thin as I would have preferred it to be a bit more syrupy. Also, I plan to reduce the balsamic vinegar in half next time I make this sauce. I thought it over powered the steaks just a bit. Paired the steaks with roasted red potatoes and sauteed green beans and mushrooms and it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was simply AMAZING!! I made this for Valentine's Day dinner and you would have thought I walked on water - LOL. This sauce, already made with wonderful filet mignons, was just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I think my steaks were not the best but I can't be certain that the lack of wonderful joyous flavors was entirely due to the steaks, so I'll go with a reasonably enthusiastic 4 stars for now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Good flavor but had a hard time getting the sauce to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Absolutly delicious!! Didn't change a thing and wouldn't suggest it either! My husband raved and raved about how tender and tasty this dish was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Delicious! I am a novice cook and this was super easy to make! I followed others' suggestions and added butter and brown sugar to the glaze, and cooked the sauce separately from the meat. I also bought the filet mignon from Whole Foods, which is pricey, but definitely excellent quality. If you're a new cook that is looking to impress, this is a great way to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
For the first time in my cooking experience I have mastered cooking stead indoors! The glaze was so great and so simple, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States