Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Delicious! I am a novice cook and this was super easy to make! I followed others' suggestions and added butter and brown sugar to the glaze, and cooked the sauce separately from the meat. I also bought the filet mignon from Whole Foods, which is pricey, but definitely excellent quality. If you're a new cook that is looking to impress, this is a great way to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
For the first time in my cooking experience I have mastered cooking stead indoors! The glaze was so great and so simple, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made this for Valentine's dinner with my hubby. It turned out fantastic, so tender. I added garlic to season the steak and a teaspoon of brown sugar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M'Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made this for Valentines Dinner. It was terrific. Hubby was able to help and didn't get lost in the directions. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made the suggestions of other reviewers and this was perfect. I gave it 4 stars since I believe the changes were necessary. 1c balsamic, 1c red wine, 1tbs brown sugar and reduced. I broiled my steak and then put Gorgonzola on top, melted, and spooned the glaze on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I've never been able to cook steak at home to medium rare and tender until this recipe! This is a fantastic way to prepare steak!! Melts in your mouth :) My only tip is to remember, when you take the steak out of the pan, you really have to cook down the liquid to get the sauce right. Ours was really running because I didn't do that (but still tasty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was really, really awesome. I took the advice of some other reviewers and reduced the balsamic glaze until it was thick and syrupy, and added green onions and garlic cloves. I sort of used this as a "base" and did my own thing, but it is definitely a great starting point. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were to die for.. After letting them set out at room temp for about an hour, I seared the filets in a screaming hot cast iron skillet for abt 1 min per side, I did use a little evoo. covered the skillet , LOOSLY ( too prevent oven splatter) with foil and put in the oven for abt 5 minutes at 425, meanwhile, I made the balsamic glaze using the addition of a little sugar and garlic as suggested by others, melted the gorgonzola under the broiler for just a few seconds..so delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe, I followed emma_lou's tips and it was like eating a restaurant at my kitchen table. It was a nice early Valentine Dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States