Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is such a simple and delicious recipe. I adda tablespoon of butter when I cook the steak before the balsamic and wine is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Made this a couple of times and husband and I both love it for flavor, juiciness and simplicity. Tonite I substituted little loin lambchops for the beef filets. No changes to anything but on a whim I added a little dried rosemary to the pan when I added the balsamic vinegar and wine. Just as great as the original for lamb lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Soooo YUM! Had no brown sugar so added turbinado. While steak rested, added pat of butter & reduced sauce. A HUGE keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
super tasty & easy recipe. I followed the recipe exactly & it came out wonderfully. Great savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The flavor was great but the sauce did not thicken up like I had hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I think 1/2 tsp of pepper in the sauce plus the pepper on the steaks (I season mike with salt/pepper AND garlic) overpowers only 2 steaks, plus the sauce had TOO much bite of vinegar and it came out a bit thin the first time. 2nd time tweaks: I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp and added 2 TB of sugar to the sauce and it was much better. The sugar took down some of the bite and when it carmelized it make the sauce more like a glaze and not just a reduction. The rating is for the as written version. For me it is a keeper with the added sugar, and I also serve it topped with a little blue or goat cheese. One poster said there is no need to add sugar if you use GOOD balsamic vinegar.. While that is true.....GOOD balsamic vinegar is also very expensive. I used good red wine (drink the rest with the steak!) but grocery store balsamic....so even the middle of the road stuff (better grocery store balsamic) has some bite to it.So...the 4 is an average.I give it a 3 as written and a 5 half the pepper and adding sugar. It was a big hit here as version two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it is written because that gives you an honest review. The flavor is delicious and I will make this again. I put the balsamic/red wine and brown sugar in a sauce pan and brought it to a gentle boil while my steaks were being browned. I added the sauce to the meat , covered it and simmered it on low for 4 1/2 minutes. I used thick steaks. After removing the steak I turned the heat up a little and reduced the liquid until it was lightly thickened. The flavor was richer than had I not done that. This was restaurant quality flavor. The steak was tender and juicy as well. Thanks for another delicious addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynznest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriO9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I'm not sure whose review I followed, but, he was spot on. Rest and season the steaks as suggested, sear (all sides) and then follow through. Why add brown sugar? The reduction is already so sweet and who needs the extra calories? You do need buy a GOOD balsamic. I paid $16 for mine. Go good on the wine. Coppola Claret was my first go around. This review is from someone who was frightened to cook steak. I am now empowered. Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
It is the best, third time to make everyone I make for loves it, only thing I do different is add teaspone of Brown Sugar, makes it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States