Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Seared our seasoned filets on a scortching hot cast iron skillet with a tablespoon of olive oil for just a few minutes until they developed a nice brown crust. While they were resting we just added the balsamic vinegar & cabernet to the skillet (we'd taken it off the heat) & the residual heat was enough to cause this to reduce to a nice, thick glaze. With the pan drippings incorporated this over the filets was absolute heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I prefer steaks grilled, so I followed other reviewers and made the sauce separate on the stovetop and used as a dipping sauce. I double the sauce, used Merlot for the wine and also added garlic the second time I made this as others suggested, then let it reduce on the stove about 10 or 15 minutes until it reached desired consistency. The sauce alone tasted strange at first and we thought it would be overpowering, but paired with the steak is FANTASTIC! My boyfriend loved it and next time we will make more and try freezing in ice cube trays for easy reheating. This is too simple to be that good! We will have this every time we cook steak from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Really good. Make this almost everytime we have Filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I can only rate the glaze, because I cooked the steak the way I always do (after letting it come to room temp, I sprinkled with salt and pepper and broiled in the oven). The glaze was really good but not as great as most of the reveiwers thought. I love the balsamic/red wine combo so I think I was hoping for better. 4 out of 5 stars is pretty good though, which the glaze was- pretty good and something I might make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very tasty, will definitely be cooking this again. I did double the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'm more of a vegetable person, but my boyfriend made this for Valentine's Day and it was amazing!! He added some garlic to the pan and cooked a bit longer than recommended and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by X3LOLA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Quick and simple recipe with readily available ingredients but not particularly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My hubby and I loved our filet mignon steaks prepared this way. Delicious ! A little tweaking by me is needed for "sauce" to turn into glaze consistency since it was very thin. Nevertheless, the taste was great and I used the excess to pour over the veggies on my plate ! LOL Will prepare this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was our Valentine dinner and it turned out really special. What made this a 5 star recipe was broiling the goat cheese on top. Like others suggested, I let the steak rest before and after cooking on the stove top. While steak was resting I made the glaze using Merlot, balsamic vinegar, garlic and about 1 T. of butter. Let it reduce to thick and syrupy and then drizzled over the steak. Thank you, Linda W. for an awesome recipe that I would be proud to serve on any special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Our filets were very thick so we put them on the grill for a bit before we started the recipe. We added fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce and rather than pour on top, we put the sauce with the mushrooms into small individual ramekins for dipping. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 776) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States