Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This meal made my New Year's! I had tender center Angus filets and used rich balsamic vinegar and our favorite Lambrusco. I added a touch of thyme and was rewarded with the juiciest melt-in-your mouth filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Very easy and very good. I used a hearty burgandy for the wine, which caused a nice sweet glaze. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I bought a wonderful filet mignon the other night. It was beautiful and I did not want to grill it... I wanted it to stay tender. I stumbled upon this recipe, the filet was magnificent. I too used the burgundy. I ended up cooking the filet a little longer since it was very thick (4 inches!!!) But by cooking it longer the glaze was even more carmalized and tasted great. I will never cook my filet mignon any other way after trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
This recipe is wonderful!!! It was fast, flavourful and great with the sides suggested- red potatoes and asparagus. Don't forget to use fresh bacon to wrap the filets, and any really tender cut will do- I used a NY Striploin cut in half as it was thick, and wrapped them in bacon- TRY THIS ONE SOON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This was the easiest recipe and turned out fabulous! I made it for my husband on New Year's Eve & he said it was the best meal of the year...restaurants included! I can think of no better compliment. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My husband has always believed that filet mignon should be eaten as is, no fancy sauces or marinades needed. I suggested we try this recipe and surprisingly he was receptive to the idea. He really liked it and so did our dinner guests. We will definitely make it again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I absolutely loved this recipe. We wanted something other than the same old turkey for Christmas this year. And...We didn't want Christmas leftovers either. This was perfect. I tripled the recipe and served 6. I served it with roasted red potatoes and green beans. I also served it with homemade foccatia bread served with olive oil and basalmic vinegar. Steamed artichokes for appetizer and a great recipe I found for chocolate pudding cake by Emeril Lagasse. My Brother-in-law commented that in a resaurant that would have been a good $60-80 meal per person! That is the best complement I've ever gotten for my cooking. I was surprised that other people didn't find the recipe as outstanding as we did. The key thing i think is to use good quality ingredients. This isn't something I could afford to make every week. The steaks alone cost me $55, not to mention the wine...but the topper is the get the best basalmic that you can afford. We used one aged 18 years. It was really sweet. Tasted almost like raisins. I give this 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Wonderful! Will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Excellent! I was looking for an easy way to cook a good filet...this was very easy and tasty! For the wine I used a bottle of italian red that we received as a gift. Served it with lobster tails and rosemary-roasted potatoes...will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States