Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I had to work Valentine's Day so we had Valentine's day dinner today. I read some of the suggestions, and reduced the glaze ahead of time with a table spoon of brown sugar. I heated 1 tablespoon of butter, and about 2 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive oil, and sauted the steak as the recipe called for, then I added the reduced glaze and continued following the recipe. The steak was so tender, I don't know why I put out steak knives, when a basic table knife would have done the job. We had cut up baked red potatoes with olive oil, paprika, and lemon pepper (daughters favorite) and a tossed salad. We had a bottle of Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon with the meal. Probably not the best choice, but it was very good. My wife was teasing me a little.. She said this meal was above restaurant quality, except it didn't have the plate decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifesChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Easy, 're.Der and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
It was a good easy recipe, however, I did something wrong and I never got a glaze like in the picture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved it came out perfect thank you, I added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
So easy and absolutely delicious ! I'd suggest doubling up on balsamic and wine but a lot of bang for time and effort. We look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Guess I am old school but like plain old Filet Mignon. This is such a tender steak....sauce too much. I read the reviews and added butter and brown sugar to the sauce - wrong. I should have stuck to the original recipe and maybe would have liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Doubled the sauce and added sliced, sauteed mushrooms and a teaspoon of brown sugar. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Very good... Made it for Valentine's Day and the wife loved it. I spent a little more for higher quality meat and vinegar and it paid off. Thanks for the great meal, will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Kyriazis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made it for Valentine's day for my wife and we loved it. We made the sauce separately like some others did. We doubled the balsamic and added brown sugar and garlic. The steaks I cooked on a pan. I seared them for 1 minute each side, then turned down the heat to finish cooking. It took longer than 5 minutes per side to finish. Near the end I did drizzle some sauce on them and finished cooking them. We both loved the sauce even though we weren't too sure about it beforehand. I paired it with one of our favorite sides, roasted red potatoes cooked with cajun seasoning and bell peppers and onions. I usually make them spicier, but this time I put some brown sugar on them as well and drizzled some red wine and balsamic over them. They were still great and went much nicer with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Absolutely love this. add the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States