Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My husband, the cattle ranchers son, called this the best steak he's ever had! I left the steaks at room temp for about 45 minutes after salt/pepper just to tenderize. Also, I had a couple of larger (6-7 oz) cuts so I needed to cook about 2 extra minutes on each side. I used a meat thermometer to about 155 degrees. We had a super easy Valentines dinner for two that looked and tasted like a meal at a top notch steakhouse. I want to try this recipe with some other (less expensive) cuts of meat when I have to feed the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this tonight for our Valentine dinner. My husband said it was the best steak he's ever had. I used a Merlot and Militello's Balsamic Vinegar and a tablespoon of crushed garlic. So tender and the glaze was nice and thick. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as-is, no alterations. It was delicious and made our Valentine Day dinner perfect! The meat was tender and the sauce gave sophistication without excessive work. Thank you for the video; it was very helpful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
2/14/14. This is a great and easy recipe! I used this recipe to make a suprise Valentines day dinner for my wife. I picked up the steaks at Trader Joes as well as the potatoes and asparagus (frozen). They all cooked to perfection! Very quick very delicious! It was a SMASH HIT! MY WIFE LOVED IT! THANKS LINDA. NEO LAS VEGAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The recipe is a keeper! We lived it. I followed others advice and did the balsamic mixture separate and served on the side. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
We made this recipe tonight to celebrate Valentine's Day and can say it exceeded our expectations. Truly delicious and we would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
We celebrated Valentine's Day with this recipe. We followed the recipe. Notice 5 stars! Do I need to say more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
SKIP IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Those who thought this too vinegar-y did not have quality Balsamic Vinegar. Balsamic Vinegar made by D'Avolio is aged 18 years and is sweet and full bodied; it is so good thatI almost would drink it like a fine wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Since everyone else is changing the recipe, I'll throw in my two cents. 1). Pan sear the steaks to taste in butter& olive oil. (this is the way Ruth's Chris Steakhouse does it. 2). Deglaze the pan with the wine/balsamic mixture. 3). Simmer and allow the sauce to reduce by half. 4). Drizzle over filet to taste. This is just a slight variation of a Classic French Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 776) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States