Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was really, really awesome. I took the advice of some other reviewers and reduced the balsamic glaze until it was thick and syrupy, and added green onions and garlic cloves. I sort of used this as a "base" and did my own thing, but it is definitely a great starting point. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were to die for.. After letting them set out at room temp for about an hour, I seared the filets in a screaming hot cast iron skillet for abt 1 min per side, I did use a little evoo. covered the skillet , LOOSLY ( too prevent oven splatter) with foil and put in the oven for abt 5 minutes at 425, meanwhile, I made the balsamic glaze using the addition of a little sugar and garlic as suggested by others, melted the gorgonzola under the broiler for just a few seconds..so delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe, I followed emma_lou's tips and it was like eating a restaurant at my kitchen table. It was a nice early Valentine Dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is simple and comes out great! I've made this a few times and never once had a complaint. I followed the recipe as is and wouldn't change anything. But be sure to start with the meat at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
So Fabulous and so quick and easy...made exactly as recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My glaze wasn't really a glaze at all....Beginner, and not sure why I couldn't get it to thicken but overall the flavor was still there...Will try it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larryam724

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was my first time to cook and have filet mignon, I never knew steak could taste so good after being cooked in a frying pan! I loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Our filets were larger than 4 oz., so I did double the sauce ingredients. Following the suggestions of others, I brushed the filets with olive oil, rubbed them with Paula Deen's House Seasoning (salt, pepper & garlic), and let them sit out of the frig for over ½ hour before cooking. I then seared/browned the filets on all sides. After removing them from the pan and covering them on a plate with foil, I added the wine and vinegar to the pan, stirred to loosen browned bits, and reduced the mixture. One tablespoon of brown sugar and one tablespoon+ of butter was then stirred in. The filets were returned to the pan, turning to coat in the sauce, covered, and simmered for approximately 5 minutes. Result: my husabnad ate his filet as fast as he eats desserts...which means he basically inhaled it because he loved the taste and tenderness so very much. This is a winner of a recipe, and I will definitely use it again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The recipe is perfect as is, but the directions are not complete for novice cooks. Always let beef rest for 1/2 - 1 hour before cooking. I season beef at this stage while it is sitting out. I usually rub some olive oil (1 tsp.) on beef cuts at this stage to keep them moist - especially if grilling. As for the glaze, if it is a little thin it just needs to be reduced a little more before pouring over the steaks, so remove the steaks when done to taste and turn up the fire a bit to finish reducing the glaze. It is not a gravy or a sauce, it is a glaze. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just made it for dinner! It was delicious!! I added 1 tbs of brown sugar, 1 tbs of butter and 1 clove of garlic to the sauce! It tasted really good however the sauce was very thin! Next time I will add creamed mushrooms to this sauce and I believe that will be 5 stars!! My husband loved the flavor but also agreed that the sauce was way too thin! But worth the try and was very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 773) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States